PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] internet problems on virtualbox



najjems
January 23rd, 2012, 05:11 PM
Hi guys, I'm running Ubuntu Studio 11.04 as a guest OS on VirtualBox (Windows 7 as the host) When I first installed it, my internet was working fine, but last night I was working on a networking/chat application project for school, and I needed to set-up some virtual IP addresses. One tutorial required me to purge 'network manager', and although it did work for me, upon shutting down and starting up the next day, I found that I have no internet connection on my Ubuntu anymore. I think it might have something to do with me purging 'network manager' i have no way of installing it again since I have no internet. :/


results of ifconfig -a

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/hp_witch/ifconfig-a.png (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v256/hp_witch/?action=view&current=ifconfig-a.png)




http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/hp_witch/connectionproperties.png (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v256/hp_witch/?action=view&current=connectionproperties.png)


hope someone can help me through this! thanks!

jejeman
January 23rd, 2012, 05:18 PM
If you removed network manager, then you need to set network manualy.
https://help.ubuntu.com/8.04/serverguide/C/network-configuration.html

najjems
January 23rd, 2012, 08:59 PM
okay, thanks for the link. it sort of helped, well now eth0 shows when i run 'ifconfig'

still doesn't have internet though, i'm not sure about what i did...

> i ran 'gksu gedit /etc/network/interfaces'
> added this to the file

auto eth0 iface eth0 inet dhcp

~The second line means that interface (“iface”) eth0, should have an IPv4 address space (replace “inet” with “inet6” for an IPv6 device)
how do i know if my device is IPv4 or 6?


Assuming your network and DHCP server are properly configured,
this machine's network should need no further configuration to operate properly.

well i don't know if it is properly configured. :(

The DHCP server will provide the default gateway
(implemented via the route command), the device's IP address
(implemented via the ifconfig command), and DNS servers used on the network
(implemented in the /etc/resolv.conf file.)


To configure your Ethernet device with a static IP address and custom configuration, some more information will be required. Suppose you want to assign the IP address 192.168.0.2 to the device eth1, with the typical netmask of 255.255.255.0. Your default gateway's IP address is 192.168.0.1. You would enter something like this into /etc/network/interfaces:
iface eth1 inet static address 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 gateway 192.168.0.1


~so i can assign any IP address i want? how will i know my gateway's IP add?

jejeman
January 23rd, 2012, 09:29 PM
I don't know what you are trying to do, but for vbox most common case its better to use dhcp. This is just what you need.

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcpFor any special configuration read the Virtualbox help. Vbox devices are ipv4.