PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] removed driver ati opensource by Synaptic now it wont boot

jcer93705
January 18th, 2012, 11:50 AM
Hey guys I uncheck all the unrelated ati because i ended up having ati driver installed plus opensource so I went through synaptic and removed all the ati related. LOL now I cant boot. I missed up and I'm no expert. How can I install the opensource driver? I have a ATI Radeon™ HD 4250 built into my laptop and also I'm on ubuntu 10.10 with latest kernel. Thanks guys. Sorry for my dumb self screwing up. I just thought that if i uninstall from synaptic maybe i could install ati driver now i just want to stay on opensource. I guess i need to uninstall the ati driver too so. Can someone help me with step by step? Thanks

coffeecat
January 18th, 2012, 12:04 PM
LOL now I cant boot.

Do you mean that you can't boot at all, or that you can't boot into a GUI?

If it's simply that booting into a GUI fails, try booting up and when you get the xserver error, press alt-ctrl-F1 to get to tty1 and log in. You will probably need to connect your laptop to your router with an ethernet cable in case wireless doesn't connect. Now run:

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-ati
sudo apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Now reboot.

If that's not possible, boot into recovery mode with an ethernet cable attached and choose "drop to root shell with networking". Now run the above three commands but without the sudo and then reboot.

If that is also not possible, then all is not lost. You can boot up with a live CD/USB, chroot into your hard drive Ubuntu and run those commands that way. Post back if you need help with that and give details of which partition your Ubuntu root partition is.

jcer93705
January 20th, 2012, 01:25 PM
Do you mean that you can't boot at all, or that you can't boot into a GUI?