PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Confused re recommended release

nickdc
January 6th, 2012, 10:14 AM
Having just lost best part of two days trying to get Kdenlive working on Ubuntu 11.10, I'm considering installing Ubuntu Studio, but not sure which version. Home page for Ubuntu Studio says 11.10 is not a recommended release, while Ubuntu wiki says it is! On the downloads page 8.04 is commented as the recommended release for production critical machines. Mine's not that, I'm not a pro, just an enthusiast fed up with Windows, familiar enough with Ubuntu now to realise it's not the panacea I'd first thought, and just wanting something that works for dv video capture and editing. Please would someone recommend the best release for me to install for video work. Cheers!

jejeman
January 6th, 2012, 10:47 AM
I have succesfully use kdenlive on 11.04 for two projects.
You can also install 10.04, it works there too, but I didn't made my projects on it. 10.04 is great for audio for which I use it.

nickdc
January 8th, 2012, 09:46 AM
After many hours spent trying to install 10.04 (burned 3 dvds before I could get one to boot, trying 2 different cd/dvd drives, then, when one did finally boot, various errors caused failure on three separate install attempts) I gave up and tried 8.04 instead. Compared to the 10.04 process, this went relatively smoothly and I now have a working Ubuntu Studio 8.04 on a separate hard drive.

However, when I go to software to install Kdenlive, it seems not to be available for 8.04, so what should I upgrade to, and how? When I run the update manager, I'm offered 10.04 as a new release upgrade, but it appears to be standard ubuntu, rather than studio that's offered. What's the recommended process for updating and upgrading an Ubuntu Studio installation, and which version of Studio is likely to give me the best combination of stability and up-to-dateness?