PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My First Server

kamakazi20012
December 24th, 2011, 11:28 AM
Hi to all that view this post. And to those who are fixing to celebrate it I want to wish a very Merry Christmas.

For Christmas, my wife got me a real server. Well, it's from her anyway even if I picked it out and ordered it :D The server is a Sun V20z from Geeks. The information can be found here:

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=V20Z-220X2-R&cat=SVR

I am waiting for it to arrive which should be sometime next week. I was wanting to know something...since I am new to servers and am wanting to use Ubuntu for servers if the kind people here would help walk me through installing and setting up the Operating System?

And I've heard it before...it's too much for my needs but I've been wanting a real server for quite sometime now and finally getting one. And since my college studies involve web designing and interactive media I felt the server could serve me well for my extended studies in HTML, CSS, Flash, Java, JavaScript...etc. My wife and I are also trying to start our own online used gaming store and I thought that the server could eventually be used to handle the website, orders, and any messages.

As a last note; I have tried converting my wife's old e-Machine desktop into a server using Windows 2003. That was a mistake...while it did work for a while it was too picky to setup and I need something more flexible. I also think it would be a good way to help Ubuntu developers out by confirming another server type that is supported. I have used XAMPP for Windows and am familiar with it so I do have a small amount of knowledge on how to use it. I have located and downloaded a PDF version of the server's instructions so I have that if I need it.