PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Edirol UM-2 seems to be recognized, but nothing happens when hitting keys

BeanAcres
December 18th, 2011, 04:14 PM
Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to Ubuntu Studio, JACK/ALSA and all that, and trying to get my old Edirol UM-2 USB MIDI interface working. I've seen some claims out on the web that it worked for folks on Linux without a hitch. I am an old veteran keyboard player who's been a bit inactive for the past fifteen years or so, and looking to explore the Linux route for composition and sound design. Unfortunately my old DX7-II is on the fritz, so I've got this little cheapo Casio home keyboard that has MIDI ports on it that I'm using to drive the UM-2. My simple goal is to just drive the ZynAddSubFX soft synth using this setup.

I've also got a bit of a software background, so I'm trying to get up to speed on just how US/JACK/ALSA do things within the filesystem. I'm just a newbie to the particulars of JACK/ALSA etc.

I've noticed that, depending on when I hook up the UM-2 with respect to whether JACK / JACK Control is started affects whether or not I can hook up ZynAddSubFX as an output on the Audio tab. Most of the time, everything seems to show up on the ALSA tab. If things don''t appear on the Audio tab, I'm not even able to get ZynAddSubFX to produce any sound using its own little virtual keyboard. I haven't figured out the pattern here yet.

The UM-2 seems to get recognized by the system. Here are a few commands I tried:

chuck@WURLY:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [I82801BAICH2 ]: ICH - Intel 82801BA-ICH2
Intel 82801BA-ICH2 with AD1887 at irq 17
1 [UM2 ]: USB-Audio - UM-2
EDIROL UM-2 at usb-0000:00:1f.2-2, full speed
chuck@WURLY:~$ ls /proc/asound
card0 card1 cards devices hwdep I82801BAICH2 modules pcm seq timers UM2 version
chuck@WURLY:~$ ls /proc/asound/UM2
id midi0 usbbus usbid
chuck@WURLY:~$ cat /proc/asound/devices
2: : timer
3: : sequencer
4: [ 0- 1]: digital audio capture
5: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback