PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] What makes mythfrontend start after boot?

RideMan
November 23rd, 2011, 11:45 PM
Sorry, folks, I'm new at this Linux stuff...

My MythTV system is working remarkably well now. But there is this one nagging issue...

During the startup process, MySQL starts, Mythbackend starts...and eventually, mythfrontend starts. Mythfrontend is not a daemon, so I presume there is a startup script someplace that launches mythfrontend.

Unfortunately, the boot process doesn't take long enough, so on system startup, mythfrontend starts, and immediately complains that it can't talk to the backend. By the time that message appears on the screen, it is able to connect. So what I want to do is add a brief delay to the mythfrontend startup to give mythbackend a chance to come up. But I have no idea where to find that script...

Somebody knows this one...

--Dave Althoff, Jr.

nickrout
November 24th, 2011, 08:38 AM
NB this answer is particular to mythbuntu, other systems are different.

/usr/bin/mythfrontend is a wrapper script that sets up some environment, then starts /usr/bin/mythfrontend.real, which is the binary.

(If you are logging in automatically and starting myth, the mechanism is that ~/.config/autostart has an entry mythfrontend.desktop which starts /usr/bin/mythfrontend)

So the script to edit is /usr/bin/mythfrontend. Add a line that says
sleep 3 somewhere near the top and adjust the "3" until it is long or short enough. (it is the number of seconds).

You could also put code in there to test if the backend is running, and that would be more foolproof, but more complex to write, particularly for a newbie.

Roebi
November 24th, 2011, 11:10 AM
I had the same issue when I set up my MythTV system, and indeed, the 'sleep' trick solved the issue.