PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading 11.04 to 11.10

jamoody
November 19th, 2011, 04:30 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu and have been running Mythbuntu 11.04 with MythTV 0.24 for a month now. I'm getting notices to upgrade to Oneiric (11.10). Several questions:
1) is it safe to MythTV to upgrade by simply clicking on the notification panel or via Alt+F2 update-manager -d?
2) is there any significant advantage to upgrading to Ubunutu 11.10?
3) is it best practice to apply Mythbuntu fixes and Ubuntu upgrades as they come along or leave well enough alone?

Thanks.

nickrout
November 19th, 2011, 07:49 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu and have been running Mythbuntu 11.04 with MythTV 0.24 for a month now. I'm getting notices to upgrade to Oneiric (11.10). Several questions:
1) is it safe to MythTV to upgrade by simply clicking on the notification panel or via Alt+F2 update-manager -d?
2) is there any significant advantage to upgrading to Ubunutu 11.10?
3) is it best practice to apply Mythbuntu fixes and Ubuntu upgrades as they come along or leave well enough alone?

Thanks.

Do NOT upgrade. There are plenty of posts on here of disasters in doing so.

It is safe to update your mythtv and general ubuntu packages within 11.04, just don't go to 11.10. Use mythbuntu-repos to stay up to date with mythtv.

romanyiv
November 20th, 2011, 03:39 PM
I did a fresh install of mythbuntu 11.10....no gui when it booted. After purging nvidia drivers (I also followed some other steps defined in another thread in this forum) I got my desktop back. My system is fairly simple so not a big deal to re-configured (you should be able to import your backup of your DB). I did this hoping that some issues I had with LIRC would be fixed (hope springs eternal for linux users). In my case it was sucessful (I have a HD-PVR connected to a cable settop box controlled by external IR transmitter).