PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Gnome shell hiccups (ricotz ppa)



paul_in_london
November 12th, 2011, 07:01 PM
GS was failing to start earlier after some updates:


paul@precise-64:~/Desktop$ gnome-shell --replace &
[1] 2995
paul@precise-64:~/Desktop$ gnome-shell: symbol lookup error: gnome-shell: undefined symbol: meta_prefs_override_preference_location
^C
[1]+ Exit 127 gnome-shell --replace
paul@precise-64:~/Desktop$

This is now fixed after gnome-shell itself was updated again:


paul@precise-64:~$ apt-cache policy gnome-shell
gnome-shell:
Installed: 3.2.1+git20111112.90119593-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0
Candidate: 3.2.1+git20111112.90119593-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0
Version table:
*** 3.2.1+git20111112.90119593-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0 0
500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/ricotz/testing/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
3.2.1-0ubuntu1 0
500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise/universe amd64 Packages
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.save.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.save.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
paul@precise-64:~$

The bad news is that configuration settings are no longer being picked up correctly. GS extensions are no longer visible in gnome-tweak-tool and I can't restore my previous window button placement settings. Running:


gconftool --type string --set /desktop/gnome/shell/windows/button_layout "close,minimize,maximize:"

and restarting GS had no effect. :confused:

Harry33
November 12th, 2011, 07:15 PM
I do not use any GS extensions, so I have no experience about them.

But other than that, the Ricotz Testing PPA works very well now.

paul_in_london
November 12th, 2011, 07:26 PM
I do not use any GS extensions, so I have no experience about them.

But other than that, the Ricotz Testing PPA works very well now.

Thanks for your reply Harry. Only one of my GS extensions was working anyway before these updates (noa11y to get rid of the accessibility icon) even though apparently compatible with GS 3.2. It's still working, but no longer showing up in gnome-tweak-tool.

So apart from that you didn't lose any settings (e.g. window button placement) after the latest updates from the ricotz ppa?

Jim_in_Omaha
November 12th, 2011, 08:10 PM
I lost the extensions control in Gnome Shell tweak tool, and the theme is lost in the title bar, and it will not change. Just started after the update.

Harry33
November 12th, 2011, 09:41 PM
It seems that the latest updates (gir1.2-mutter-3.0, gsettings-desktop-schemas, gnome-shell, libmutter0) are connected to each other. All these must be updated at the same time.

Also, gnome-tweak-tool (3.2.1-0ubuntu1) seems to be too old for the new gsettings-desktop-schemas (3.3.0+git20111112). It takes pretty long time (~20 sec) for g-t-t to open and there are a number of warning messages about misssing gconf settigns.

crdlb
November 12th, 2011, 11:35 PM
It appears that mutter has just been ported from gconf to GSettings (i.e. dconf): http://git.gnome.org/browse/mutter/commit/?id=d0910da036cfe7e9c86e19ccb3e765953b5dc045

The GSettings key for button layout is in org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences.

paul_in_london
November 13th, 2011, 12:04 AM
It appears that mutter has just been ported from gconf to GSettings (i.e. dconf): http://git.gnome.org/browse/mutter/commit/?id=d0910da036cfe7e9c86e19ccb3e765953b5dc045

The GSettings key for button layout is in org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences.

Tried:


gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences button-layout 'close,minimize,maximize:'

Check:


gsettings get org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences button-layout
'close,minimize,maximize:'

Reloaded GS. Still no-go.

crdlb
November 13th, 2011, 12:22 AM
Do you have the latest version of gsettings-desktop-schemas? If you do, maybe the transition just hasn't been completed.

paul_in_london
November 13th, 2011, 12:34 AM
Do you have the latest version of gsettings-desktop-schemas? If you do, maybe the transition just hasn't been completed.

AFAIK, yes. From today's updates:


paul@precise-64:~$ ls -lart /var/cache/apt/archives/gsettings-desktop-schemas*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9258 Nov 12 16:14 /var/cache/apt/archives/gsettings-desktop-schemas-dev_3.3.0~git20111112.a6de26d3-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0_amd64.deb
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 126150 Nov 12 16:14 /var/cache/apt/archives/gsettings-desktop-schemas_3.3.0~git20111112.a6de26d3-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0_amd64.deb
paul@precise-64:~$


paul@precise-64:~$ apt-cache policy gsettings-desktop-schemas
gsettings-desktop-schemas:
Installed: 3.3.0~git20111112.a6de26d3-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0
Candidate: 3.3.0~git20111112.a6de26d3-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0
Version table:
*** 3.3.0~git20111112.a6de26d3-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0 0
500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/ricotz/testing/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
3.2.0-0ubuntu1 0
500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.save.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.save.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
paul@precise-64:~$

paul_in_london
December 3rd, 2011, 01:12 AM
I was just wondering - has anyone done a fresh PP install and then added the ricotz testing ppa? If you have, are the window buttons on the left?! I thought this might have sorted itself out by now, but mine are still on the right despite what I've done previously via gconf and (more recently) gsettings.

pferraro
December 3rd, 2011, 04:02 AM
GS was failing to start earlier after some updates:


paul@precise-64:~/Desktop$ gnome-shell --replace &
[1] 2995
paul@precise-64:~/Desktop$ gnome-shell: symbol lookup error: gnome-shell: undefined symbol: meta_prefs_override_preference_location
^C
[1]+ Exit 127 gnome-shell --replace
paul@precise-64:~/Desktop$

This is now fixed after gnome-shell itself was updated again:


paul@precise-64:~$ apt-cache policy gnome-shell
gnome-shell:
Installed: 3.2.1+git20111112.90119593-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0
Candidate: 3.2.1+git20111112.90119593-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0
Version table:
*** 3.2.1+git20111112.90119593-0ubuntu1~12.04~ricotz0 0
500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/ricotz/testing/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
3.2.1-0ubuntu1 0
500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise/universe amd64 Packages
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.save.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.save.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'ricotz-testing-oneiric.list.hidden' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
paul@precise-64:~$

The bad news is that configuration settings are no longer being picked up correctly. GS extensions are no longer visible in gnome-tweak-tool and I can't restore my previous window button placement settings. Running:


gconftool --type string --set /desktop/gnome/shell/windows/button_layout "close,minimize,maximize:"

and restarting GS had no effect. :confused:

Update the button-layout key from the org.gnome.shell.overrides schema. This key overrides the default button-layout from the org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences schema. Changing the button layout no longer requires you to restart gnome-shell.

paul_in_london
December 3rd, 2011, 04:24 AM
Update the button-layout key from the org.gnome.shell.overrides schema. This key overrides the default button-layout from the org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences schema. Changing the button layout no longer requires you to restart gnome-shell.

Top man!


gsettings set org.gnome.shell.overrides button-layout 'close,minimize,maximize:'

did the trick and without having to restart GS as you said. Cheers!

Jim_in_Omaha
December 3rd, 2011, 06:19 AM
I was just wondering - has anyone done a fresh PP install and then added the ricotz testing ppa? If you have, are the window buttons on the left?! I thought this might have sorted itself out by now, but mine are still on the right despite what I've done previously via gconf and (more recently) gsettings.

I had to rebuild my T500 Thinkpad because of a really strange crash that killed the kernal. I intentionally went with the testing ppa of Gnomeshell to test it out. The extensions did not work and I was unable to add the buttons. And I have not moved them to the left.

The memory hog issue seems to be related to the extensions-commons somehow. Right now I'm running the release 3.2 without that and have had no memory issues on either the desktop or the T500 (after reversing from the testing PPA)

paul_in_london
December 3rd, 2011, 08:46 PM
I had to rebuild my T500 Thinkpad because of a really strange crash that killed the kernal. I intentionally went with the testing ppa of Gnomeshell to test it out. The extensions did not work and I was unable to add the buttons. And I have not moved them to the left.

The memory hog issue seems to be related to the extensions-commons somehow. Right now I'm running the release 3.2 without that and have had no memory issues on either the desktop or the T500 (after reversing from the testing PPA)

Thanks again for the fix. I'm still using the ricotz-testing ppa and some GS extensions aren't working for me at the moment (e.g. noa11y). The warning given is "Extension does not support shell version").