PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Major problem need help!

Zapperman
November 2nd, 2011, 09:57 PM
Hey guys I'm new to Linux... a total ubuntard. I seem to have a problem with my password. I set a password on Ubuntu (since it was required) and later disabled it on the admin account. After disabling the password i tried to install a program. I was asked for an authentication password (which surprised me since i disabled the password) so i entered the password I first set Ubuntu up with. It didn't work!!!:confused: I've already tried doing all the things in the ubuntu "i forgot my password" section, nothing worked! I'm able to log on because i have automatic log on enabled, but i can't do anything that requires authentication

Eiji Takanaka
November 2nd, 2011, 10:18 PM
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/linux/reset-your-forgotten-ubuntu-password-in-2-minutes-or-less/

;)

November 2nd, 2011, 10:25 PM
Hehe, you are new to Ubuntu I can see (D'oh)
Welcome.
You NEED a password, no matter what, to do admin things, but you can make it so you can log in without a password.
I don't exactly know how to make it so you will never need to use a password (not recommended, although they are rare, hijacks are very possible), but I sure would like to know what you did to disable it.

EDIT: Although Eiji got it down good, I still am curious and would like to know how you did it ;)

crazyguy510
November 2nd, 2011, 10:30 PM
I believe this is a simple guide that will work. Never had this problem but this sounds like a good solution.

http://www.ehow.com/how_7271002_root-password-recovery-ubuntu.html

For future reference, it sounds like you disabled the password prompt for logging in as your admin user. If you want to completely disable password prompts then I'd recommend doing some googling. These prompts can be a bit annoying, but in the end its for the best. Disabling it would be a very unsafe practice.

P.S. Welcome to the Ubuntu community! Hope we don't scare you off too quickly! :)