PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems



JohnNL
October 31st, 2011, 07:37 PM
Hi there,

I'm new to Ubuntu.

I have installed the previous version of Ubuntu Workstation fine, on a PC and I have installed all prerequisites for Magento. It ran perfectly.

Now I have updated to 11.10 and initialy all seemed well. I can run the site perfectly from all the PC's in the network, backend and frontend work just fine.

The only problem that I have since 11.10 is that a part of Magento: ConnectManager (used for installing components) fails to run, stating: 'Cannot connect to host: localhost'

This happens on all PC's, even the Ubuntu Workstation.

I have been milling around this problem for a couple of days now (since 11.10 was released), but what ever I do: No results.

Can anyone help me past this hurdle?

Thanks in advance! John

Diametric
October 31st, 2011, 07:54 PM
Can you type:


ifconfig

at the terminal and post the output?

Devi1903
October 31st, 2011, 07:54 PM
can you ping localhost or 127.0.0.1?

JohnNL
October 31st, 2011, 09:03 PM
Can you type:


ifconfigat the terminal and post the output?

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:85:f4:43:16
inet addr:192.168.10.22 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::211:85ff:fef4:4316/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:157640 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5032 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:59804172 (59.8 MB) TX bytes:1365005 (1.3 MB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:645 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:645 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:139907 (139.9 KB) TX bytes:139907 (139.9 KB)

JohnNL
October 31st, 2011, 09:05 PM
can you ping localhost or 127.0.0.1?

On the Ubuntu workstation I can do both without loss.

Diametric
November 1st, 2011, 01:35 AM
Hmmm...I don't see anything goofy with the output to ifconffig - I just upgraded to 11.10 too, and I'm curious to see if anyone else comments on this? Have you check the documentation for the app you're running to see if there could be any info there?

JohnNL
November 1st, 2011, 05:38 AM
Hmmm...I don't see anything goofy with the output to ifconffig - I just upgraded to 11.10 too, and I'm curious to see if anyone else comments on this? Have you check the documentation for the app you're running to see if there could be any info there?

I have looked into that. Magento is a webshop application that did work on the previous version. I'll go through it again to see if there is something wrong there... but I cane to the conclusion that the message that I got was not a Magento message but an OS related one.

Are there any other tests that we could do?

JohnNL
November 1st, 2011, 06:43 AM
Hi!

Well I found the problem!

As it turned out, the proftd configuration was invalid, causing the FTP service to be down, this lead to the message.

Had to delete the proftpd configuration folder and files, folowing that I reinstalled the proftpd package.

Now it works again.

Thanks for your help, it got me thinking again! :popcorn:

John