PDA

View Full Version : 11.10 HD Channels video scrambled

johncar
October 22nd, 2011, 09:40 PM
Newbie here with a dumb question. I have installed 11.10 Mythtv and everything works fine except when I try to watch over the air HD channels the video is scrambled with green and purple lines through the video the non HD channels the video is fine and clear. I am using the new homerun over the air 2 tuner box. Is there a setting that i missed? Thanks for your help.

AlecJ
October 23rd, 2011, 09:24 AM
Newbie here with a dumb question. I have installed 11.10 Mythtv and everything works fine except when I try to watch over the air HD channels the video is scrambled with green and purple lines through the video the non HD channels the video is fine and clear. I am using the new homerun over the air 2 tuner box. Is there a setting that i missed? Thanks for your help.

You don't give much info, but if your homerun card is only dvb-s then it will not "see" DVB-s2 channels.

rlowery
October 24th, 2011, 11:30 PM
I had this issue and found my HD profile was using libmpeg, switching to ffmpeg solved it

highlanderb
November 4th, 2011, 01:41 AM
Thanks I had the purple vertical lines problem also when I installed mythbuntu 11.10 and your answer helped me. but instead of editing the profile I changed the playback profile to High Quality (which uses ffmpeg). Same solution different path.
On the mythtv frontend chose
Utilities/Setup > Setup > TV Settings > Playback
The 3rd screen allows you to change the current video playback profile. It was default I changed it to High Quality.

Thanks again.

nickrout
November 4th, 2011, 09:31 AM
I had this issue and found my HD profile was using libmpeg, switching to ffmpeg solved it

libmpeg is about to be divorced from mythtv, so it's not a good idea to hang on to it anyway :)

RideMan
November 7th, 2011, 03:39 AM