PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question: What happens if Ubuntu 10.10 is loaded on failed 11.10?

Gorrest
October 19th, 2011, 07:38 PM
I am not a computer programmer. I pushed the upgrade for 11.04 to 11.10 and have reached the purple screen and "Booting System Without Full Network Configuration" and the "checking battery state". I can get the Grub menu but rebooting means right back to the purple screen. I put in a USB stick with 10.10 on it and it works but I did not click download - I only used test 10.10 off the USB stick. What would happen if I downloaded 10.10 on top of the failed 11.10 installation? Would the computer become totally confused? I am posting this from a scond computer with 10.10 which reminds me that 11.04 is available, but no way will I chance messing this computer up. The computer with the failed 11.10 update has an Asus board with Radeon 4200 onboard + Sempron 140 CPU and 2 gb of DDR2 Ram and a WD 500 gb HDD - I would pull the HDD out and erase it if a HDD external eraser existed and insert it back and load Ubuntu 10.10 from the USB stick - that would definitely work!

critin
October 19th, 2011, 08:48 PM
What would happen if I downloaded 10.10 on top of the failed 11.10 installation? Would the computer become totally confused?

Do you mean 'if I INSTALLED 10.10 over 11.10? Instead of 'DOWNLOADED'? Two different things.

I've done this type of installation lots of times and it gives me no problems. Just choose to erase and install when it gets to screen where you choose where to install. Be sure it picks the correct partition, unless you're using the entire disk. If you have more than one OS, you will choose 'something else', and then choose the right partition. It will overwrite the old installation.

critin