PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Linux partition misaligned?

cozumel
October 18th, 2011, 11:14 AM
Hi,

I am totally new to Linux, so please be gentle with me!;)

I have installed 11.10 x64 alongside Windows 7 x64

My Hard Drive is a Western Digital Scorpio WD5000BPKT-75PK4T0

When I look at my partitions through disk utility that came with ubuntu and click on the Linux partition it says:
"WARNING: The partition is misaligned by 1024 bytes. This may result in very poor performance. Repartitioning is suggested."

Does this mean I should delete the partition, resize and reinstall?

Thanks for your help? (Sorry to be such a noob lol)

Bmonsterboy
October 18th, 2011, 11:20 AM
Hey don't be so harsh on yourself. Everyone had to be a beginner once too :)
This might help: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1635018

westie457
October 18th, 2011, 11:26 AM
Hello and welcome to the Forum.

Before doing anything drastic and time consuming take a look at this thread and the links within it. http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1635018
A lot of reading and information to digest.

Reformatting and re-installing will work however that is usually the 'when all else fails' option.

cozumel
October 18th, 2011, 12:20 PM
Thanks gentlemen (or ladies) for your snappy replies and link(s).

Okay, just checked and my disk is Advanced Format (oh joy)

I'll download paragon alignment tool and then hopefully realign and validate correct alignment.

I'll post back if I am successful or have any further problems

Thanks again guys (or gals) :D

mastablasta
October 18th, 2011, 12:25 PM
gparted should have done the alignment. Is this still not done automaticly by it??!?!

cozumel
October 18th, 2011, 12:36 PM
gparted should have done the alignment. Is this still not done automaticly by it??!?!I used gparted via the terminal from the livecd 11.10 to resize original partitions and create new partitions for Ubuntu. So, it is either not automated or I did something wrong..

mastablasta