PDA

View Full Version : help, trying to install ubuntu

R_bd_23
October 17th, 2011, 12:58 PM
i wanted to install ubuntu using flash disk (team project btw)i downloaded the ubuntu and install it to a flash drive. it turned out ok when i used it as a trial on my Desktop computer which is runing on win7 (btw again, you can actually use ubuntu OS even if you didnt install it yet). but when i tried to install it to a newly formatted,partitioned, and installed winXP computer,, well it wont boot from the flash drive. i tried to look at it in the BIOS config and i cant see the "removable disk"option in the first boot, but the comp can read it when i open it on winXP, that means that there is no problem in the flash drive. but i remembered about the BIOS config.. i tried it many time but still get the same results..

nothingspecial
October 17th, 2011, 12:59 PM
Moved to Absolute Beginner Talk.

mastablasta
October 17th, 2011, 01:25 PM
well it may be that BIOS doens't recognise it . i have similar issue with one of the USB disks. options you have now are:

use a different USB disk
create a LiveCD and install from that
use PLOP boot manager to boot from USB (for example if oyu have floppy drive oyu can just install PLOP on floppy and then use it to boot from USB)

install GRUB to disk first and then use it to boot the USB (i think it would work) - for advanced users only i guess...

R_bd_23
October 17th, 2011, 01:35 PM
well it may be that BIOS doens't recognise it . i have similar issue with one of the USB disks. options you have now are:

use a different USB disk
create a LiveCD and install from that
use PLOP boot manager to boot from USB (for example if oyu have floppy drive oyu can just install PLOP on floppy and then use it to boot from USB)

install GRUB to disk first and then use it to boot the USB (i think it would work) - for advanced users only i guess...