PDA

View Full Version : logon system C#, asp.net

Drenriza
October 13th, 2011, 01:50 PM
Hi all.

On my ASP.NET site, which is a company site for over intranet, i was wondering to make a logon system. But how do you secure such a thing from attackers? What do you need to be aware of.

I was wondering to make a text file in round 1, where it has username + password.
When a user then wants to logon it checks if the username exists and if the expected password match the one the users inputted. And then encrypt the text file.

But how secure is such a method? What do one need to focus on?

As you've probably guessed, i am no security expert ,)=

Thanks on advance.
Kind regards.

Drenriza
October 17th, 2011, 01:09 PM
No one? :(

ve4cib
October 17th, 2011, 05:37 PM
You are correct that you need usernames and passwords stored somewhere. A database is probably better than a text file, but that doesn't matter too terribly much.

Instead of storing the passwords though, store the checksum of the passwords. SHA256 is a good, secure choice. When the user logs in they send their username and password, the server computes the checksum of the provided password and compares it to the one in the DB. If they match all is good.

You'll probably want to use a session cookie or similar server-side method to prevent a session from being spoofed or hijacked. This is not my area of expertise though, so I can't offer much advice beyond those keywords.

Finally, if you use HTTP the username and password will be transmitted unencrypted. For an intranet application this shouldn't be too bad, but if you're paranoid get an SSL certificate and run the application (or at least the login) over https instead of http.

cgroza
October 18th, 2011, 12:57 AM