PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI Graphics performance issue

venuraalwis
October 11th, 2011, 03:31 PM
Hi,
I'm new to Ubuntu. I have problem with performance in my grapichs card.It takes bit of a delay when i moved between the opened windows using alt+tab.I can't use the effects like wobbly windows etc.I am using the laptop Pavillion dv6/intel i5 with 8 GB of ram.

Ubuntu version: 10.10
I get the following, when I typed the command :lspci -nn | grep VGA

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Sandy Bridge Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0116] (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:6740]

Is there any way to improve the graphics performance?
Thanks

ubupirate
October 11th, 2011, 03:41 PM
You might try disabling Compiz effects either from right click desktop -> change desktop background -> visual effects, or via terminal:

metacity --replace

Also make sure your graphics drivers are up to date.

venuraalwis
October 12th, 2011, 08:14 AM
Thanks for the reply.
I have disabled it (anyway it doesn't allow me to enable throws the error- "Desktop effects could not be enabled").

And I'm using the open source driver (I had problems in starting xwindow after installing the proprietary drivers so i switched back to the open source one).
I have followed the steps as it was stated in the following link:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Troubleshooting/FglrxInteferesWithRadeonDriver#Problem:%20%20Need% 20to%20fully%20remove%20-fglrx%20and%20reinstall%20-ati%20from%20scratch

when i checked the Xorg.0.log
I found following:

[ 23.567] (II) LoadModule: "vesa"
[ 23.567] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/vesa_drv.so
[ 23.567] (II) Module vesa: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 23.567] compiled for 1.8.99.905, module version = 2.3.0
[ 23.567] Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[ 23.567] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 8.0

Any Idea?

Thanks

mastablasta
October 12th, 2011, 09:50 AM