PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Fresh 10.10 Install on Friends laptop, Still boots to grub?



Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 09:08 AM
Hey all,

I've run into something I've only seen once before , I think.- and dont know why it happens or how to fix it.

I just did a fresh install on this Compaq laptop,
Installed 10.10 over win7, So only ubuntu on the disk now.

when Ive got it running, it runs great! no surprise there...
but whenever it's rebooted, it always boots to the grub screen, which I [she] will have no use for. It doesnt need to be seen, anyway.

Is there a way to make it so that this boots straight into the OS, without giving me the GRUB screen first?

Also..
It seems that when it's rebooted, every... say- 1 in 3 times,
it will give me the grub screen, I will select the OS, and it will begin to boot,
then it just hangs on a black screen with a flashing cursor.

and it sits like this until i hit a key,
with which it replies..
(something like) "Root device mount timed out"-"intramfs....."
does that sound familair? Lol! Sorry..
Ill have to look closer when it happens again.

I'm wondering if i didnt need to go through the grub screen, if the same errors would occur? or would it just boot right into the system? lol
hmm..

Anyone got any ideas?
Thanks in advance!

ibutho
September 22nd, 2011, 09:24 AM
If you do not want to see the grub screen, edit /boot/grub/menu.lst or /etc/default/grub depending on your distro and change the timeout from 10 to 0. I am not sure about the hang when you reboot.

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 09:40 AM
Hey thanks, I'll give it a try.

I learned a little more..

So..
Whenever I do a reboot now, it reboots, and then hangs at the black screen w/flashing cursor..
then I hit a key, (usually H key i guess) lol
and it gives me the " gave up waiting for root mount device" [er somthin]
and the

so at [initramfs] i type [I]exit and it boots into the system like normal.

what the heck is that about? lol

Thanks ibutho, I'll see what happens with that. :)

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 09:59 AM
ok, sorry it's gotta be this way, but this is the only way I could get a shot. lol
]
Got the Grub timeout changed from 10 to 0. Thanks again!

Now,
Still, on a reboot...
I get the black screen/cursor..
and i hit enter..

and the screen you see appears.

Then, where it says (initramfs)
I have to type exit, then hit enter, then hit spacebar!
THEN it boots into the system. :lol: lol

I dunno what's up with this. :???:

ibutho
September 22nd, 2011, 10:10 AM
Have you upgraded the kernel on this system?

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 10:17 AM
I've not done anything [system wise] but install 10.10 Fresh, and then apply the needed updates.
300+ MB's worth.

This is the kernel info..
202687
prob not what ya need.., I don't know! ??? lol

technosysind
September 22nd, 2011, 10:34 AM
I think you need fresh installation. In case you are making a dual boot, install using wubi

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 10:56 AM
hmm..
i just installed it! lol
:/
No dual boot.
only Ubuntu , as stated above.

ill probably end up trying a reinstall though if i don't get it.
see if that helps, i dunno.
grr.

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 06:28 PM
ANyone got any more ideas?
before I actually go through a whole new install again, and get it all setup and customized all over again?

I don't mind the installs soo much,
just all the updates after, and having to spend the time getting it customized to be easy to use for a windows person. :???: lol

hmmm

technosysind
September 22nd, 2011, 06:33 PM
Go for it. I really don't think that there is any better option.

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 06:47 PM
I just hate to do all that, all over again..
only to find it does the same damn thing! :/ lol

ibutho
September 22nd, 2011, 07:05 PM
How many kernels are listed in your grub config file or the grub boot menu? I suspect that you may have upgraded to a kernel thats not playing nice with your hardware.

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 07:29 PM
How many kernels are listed in your grub config file or the grub boot menu? I suspect that you may have upgraded to a kernel thats not playing nice with your hardware.

hey ibutho,
here is what my grub file says...
is this the right file?
from /etc/default/grub


If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
# /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

# Uncomment to enable BadRAM filtering, modify to suit your needs
# This works with Linux (no patch required) and with any kernel that obtains
# the memory map information from GRUB (GNU Mach, kernel of FreeBSD ...)
#GRUB_BADRAM="0x01234567,0xfefefefe,0x89abcdef,0xefefefef"

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
#GRUB_TERMINAL=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
#GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

# Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true"

# Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"

if it's something else I need, let me know, thank you!

ibutho
September 22nd, 2011, 08:35 PM
The info I need to look at is in /boot/grub/grub.cfg, so post the output of

cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 08:43 PM
ohh alright, thank you.

Here it is.
edit: crap, took it from the wrong laptop. :lolflag:
brb

Ok, here it is.


#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
set have_grubenv=true
load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
save_env saved_entry
set prev_saved_entry=
save_env prev_saved_entry
set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
saved_entry="${chosen}"
save_env saved_entry
fi
}

function recordfail {
set recordfail=1
if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
}

function load_video {
insmod vbe
insmod vga
}

insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
set gfxmode=640x480
load_video
insmod gfxterm
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
set lang=en
insmod gettext
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=white/black
set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-30-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-30-generic root=UUID=93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-30-generic
}
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-30-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.35-30-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-30-generic root=UUID=93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883 ro single
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-30-generic
}
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-22-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-22-generic root=UUID=93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-22-generic
}
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-22-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.35-22-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-22-generic root=UUID=93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883 ro single
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-22-generic
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 93722094-d374-43f7-828a-bf6c4af6a883
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
if [ "x${timeout}" != "x-1" ]; then
if keystatus; then
if keystatus --shift; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=0
fi
else
if sleep --interruptible 3 ; then
set timeout=0
fi
fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###


:confused:

ibutho
September 22nd, 2011, 09:03 PM
It appears that you have two different kernels installed. I suggest changing the grub timeout back to 10, booting from the older kernel (Linux 2.6.35-22-generic) and see if you have the same problems when you reboot (Each time you reboot, select Linux 2.6.35-22-generic). If the old kernel works better than the new one (Linux 2.6.35-30-generic), it might be best to use that as default.

Rasa1111
September 22nd, 2011, 09:19 PM
Progress! lol

Thank you man. :)

Ok, As you said..
I selected the old kernel, and it booted right up.

Is there anyway to make it just boot into that kernel by default?
or
is there a way to remove the one that's not working?

also..
how the hell did I get 2 kernels? lol

Many thanks for your time.
I appreciate it.

maul9999
September 22nd, 2011, 10:45 PM
Hey all,

I've run into something I've only seen once before , I think.- and dont know why it happens or how to fix it.

I just did a fresh install on this Compaq laptop,
Installed 10.10 over win7, So only ubuntu on the disk now.

when Ive got it running, it runs great! no surprise there...
but whenever it's rebooted, it always boots to the grub screen, which I [she] will have no use for. It doesnt need to be seen, anyway.

Is there a way to make it so that this boots straight into the OS, without giving me the GRUB screen first?

Also..
It seems that when it's rebooted, every... say- 1 in 3 times,
it will give me the grub screen, I will select the OS, and it will begin to boot,
then it just hangs on a black screen with a flashing cursor.

and it sits like this until i hit a key,
with which it replies..
(something like) "Root device mount timed out"-"intramfs....."
does that sound familair? Lol! Sorry..
Ill have to look closer when it happens again.

I'm wondering if i didnt need to go through the grub screen, if the same errors would occur? or would it just boot right into the system? lol
hmm..

Anyone got any ideas?
Thanks in advance!

It can be your friend's laptop hardware issued. Check it with windows 7 if you have one.

Rasa1111
September 23rd, 2011, 12:58 AM
I just need to know how to remove the 2nd kernel, or at least remove it from GRUB.

Rasa1111
September 23rd, 2011, 03:38 AM
Woohoo! I fixed it!! Yes! lol :D

I just removed the kernel i didnt need , using synaptic,
updated grub, rebooted, and it booted directly into the OS!

ibutho! Thanks soo much man!
wouldnt have gotten this without you. :)
You rock! :guitar: <3

ibutho
September 23rd, 2011, 04:30 AM
Woohoo! I fixed it!! Yes! lol :D

I just removed the kernel i didnt need , using synaptic,
updated grub, rebooted, and it booted directly into the OS!

ibutho! Thanks soo much man!
wouldnt have gotten this without you. :)
You rock! :guitar: <3

No worries. I'm glad I managed to help and the system is working as it should.

Rasa1111
September 23rd, 2011, 07:43 AM
Big time help!
*deep bows*

now, all she needs is a new keyboard and this thing would be like new! lol :P

where can i get the PPA for that?
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:new-keyboard
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install new keyboard.
:lol:

This community is awesome. <3
thanks again