PDA

View Full Version : how to execute a .exe file!?

geekhush
September 20th, 2011, 09:39 AM
hi, i am using ubuntu 11.4 and i am new to it.... and i usd to us windows b4 i startd with ubuntu...i v installed ubuntu via wubi... so i v some softwares (windows native) thats .exe programs which i would like to install on ubuntu..so i go to properties and then permissions to make it executable to run it through wubi..but when i try to chang anything in th permission tab ..it doesn't happen..i mark it as executable and within a sec it gets unmarked... and also the softwares i am using are fr softwares not those pirated ones..anybodies got any clue on this prob.??
any help really really appreciated :)
thanks

rollinsmoke
September 20th, 2011, 09:42 AM
do some looking into wine and vitalization its your best hope of running windows programs on Linux

I personaly use virturalbox ose but system stats have to up there to run smoothly wine is the typical solution for slower pcs

Elfy
September 20th, 2011, 09:44 AM
It's not a problem as such :)

You need windows to run .exe's not linux, however you might find that what you want to use runs with Wine.

Not everything will, not everything will run perfectly.

There's a database you can search to see of what you want has had chance previously.

http://appdb.winehq.org/

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wine

moved to wine

Riothamus
September 20th, 2011, 09:47 AM
Ubuntu is its own operating system, separate from Windows. You can't run Windows programs on it without running an emulator.

What kind of program is it? If it's a DOS program you want to run you can install DOSBox. If it's for Windows, you can use Wine, the Windows emulator.

If the program you want to run is like a game or a word processor, it should run fine. But if it's like a command-line utility, it won't work, or won't be worth the effort.

WinterMadness
September 20th, 2011, 09:59 AM