PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Is it just me or is XUbuntu difficult?



marinara
September 18th, 2011, 07:19 AM
Is it just me or is XFCE kinda hard?

I played with XFCE (xubuntu 11.04) for 30 min today and I managed to get bugbit several times.



tab completion in bash
ctrl-F4 doesn't work in firefox (Now I know about ctrl-w)
managed to corrupt my XFCE panels (any way to restore a corrupted panel?)


(I also had a doubleclicking problem but I fixed that!)

And I haven't even tried installing software!

Still I'm gonna stay with Xubuntu. I'm already addicted to the responsive speed!

Calculon64
September 18th, 2011, 07:45 AM
XFCE saved me from the nightmare that currently KDE and Gnome is. Be patient and try it.

texaswriter
September 18th, 2011, 07:52 AM
Is it just me or is XFCE kinda hard?

I played with XFCE (xubuntu 11.04) for 30 min today and I managed to get bugbit several times.



tab completion in bash
ctrl-F4 doesn't work in firefox (Now I know about ctrl-w)
managed to corrupt my XFCE panels (any way to restore a corrupted panel?)


(I also had a doubleclicking problem but I fixed that!)

And I haven't even tried installing software!

Still I'm gonna stay with Xubuntu. I'm already addicted to the responsive speed!

I imagine you might be unfamiliar. It's not unthinkable for a new interface to cause someone to have difficulty.

If you encounter something you think isn't how it is intended to work, though, I'm sure the developers would like you to submit bug reports so it can be corrected.

marinara
September 18th, 2011, 08:09 AM
Yes, I'm thinking my panel problem isn't that serious. It was the quick-launch panel that got corrupted and I can rebuild that IMHO.

Copper Bezel
September 18th, 2011, 08:14 AM
Is it just me or is XFCE kinda hard?
In general, yes, if you're switching from Gnome, XFCE is going to make you work a little harder. KDE and Gnome have GUI tools and automation for features that XFCE doesn't have them for, but that's why XFCE is lighter-weight. So yes, if you like the speed, just be patient with it and muddle through; it'll probably be worth the effort. = )

marinara
September 18th, 2011, 08:28 AM
Thanks Copper, Calculon and Texaswriter.

About my tab completion problem.

I press tab or ctrl-I twice, and I get this

http://i.imgur.com/8h7S3.png

and bash won't type the word for me anymore. What gives?

Uh, it's me. I was used to ubuntu cycling through each word... I guess xfce doesn't cycle, it just lists each completion. If I type more of the filename, it completes fine.

Copper Bezel
September 18th, 2011, 08:42 AM
I thought that's how tab completion generally works, isn't it? It's indicating that it doesn't know which one you want. So add an e, an oc, or an ow and hit tab again, and it'll complete the folder name.

marinara
September 18th, 2011, 08:56 AM
Yeah. I was used to where you pressed tab once for each possible completion. Like If I wanted the last completion, I'd just hit tab 2 more times.

Thank you very much and thanks for not calling me stupid.

Copper Bezel
September 18th, 2011, 06:55 PM
Actually, I think you might have had something extra installed on your Ubuntu - my gnome-terminal's Tab completion (in regular Gnome Ubuntu, 11.04) behaves the same as yours in XFCE. Is it possible that you had added a better Tab completion method (such as through a custom .bashrc or something of the sort) on your old install?

cryptotheslow
September 19th, 2011, 06:01 AM
Actually, I think you might have had something extra installed on your Ubuntu - my gnome-terminal's Tab completion (in regular Gnome Ubuntu, 11.04) behaves the same as yours in XFCE. Is it possible that you had added a better Tab completion method (such as through a custom .bashrc or something of the sort) on your old install?


I don't think it's anything extra. I have a pretty much vanilla 10.04 install and hitting tab multiple times to auto-complete cycles through possible matches. I don't find it to be all that useful as you generally tend to tab too fast and go past what you wanted then have to go right round the cycle again. Maybe it was removed in 11.x for that reason - it's more efficient to have to type a few more letters before hitting tab. I don't know - just speculating.

texaswriter
September 21st, 2011, 07:47 AM
Yeah. I was used to where you pressed tab once for each possible completion. Like If I wanted the last completion, I'd just hit tab 2 more times.

Thank you very much and thanks for not calling me stupid.

I hope nobody has made you feel like you are stupid.

When I press tab and there are multiple options, it will also require an additional character pressed and then tab to finish autocomplete (or further narrow it down :D).

So, definitely, we should be looking at how to customize that autocompletion!!!

HERE are some weblinks.

This first one isn't too helpful, admittedly.
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:zGNp84j4OeAJ:www.unix.com/unix-dummies-questions-answers/41834-how-configure-autocomplete-command.html+linux+autocomplete+command&cd=3&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=ubuntu

This second one has some simple help, but scroll down to the comments and you find a world of help!!! For example, you can set the multiples to view the first tab (instead of the second). There may be more little tidbits here. Check for yourself.
http://embraceubuntu.com/2006/01/28/turn-on-bash-smart-completion/

That's all I've got :)!!!