PDA

View Full Version : Atheros AR9285 ubuntu 11.05



118118
September 18th, 2011, 01:38 AM
hi, i am completely new to linux. here are some print outs

i'm trying to connect wirelessly to the internet but no access points are shown.

sudo lshw - C network


*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: f4:ec:38:d0:40:cf
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath9k driverversion=2.6.38-8-generic firmware=N/A latency=0 link=no multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
resources: irq:18 memory:fbff0000-fbffffffnm-tool


NetworkManager Tool

State: disconnected

- Device: eth0 -----------------------------------------------------------------
Type: Wired
Driver: forcedeth
State: unavailable
Default: no
HW Address: 00:25:22:C9:3E:1C

Capabilities:
Carrier Detect: yes

Wired Properties
Carrier: off


- Device: wlan0 ----------------------------------------------------------------
Type: 802.11 WiFi
Driver: ath9k
State: disconnected
Default: no
HW Address: F4:EC:38:grin:0:40:CF

Capabilities:

Wireless Properties
WEP Encryption: yes
WPA Encryption: yes
WPA2 Encryption: yes

Wireless Access Points


lspci -nn | grep -e 0280 -e 0200


03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)lsub


Bus 002 Device 003: ID 046d:c00e Logitech, Inc. M-BJ58/M-BJ69 Optical Wheel Mouse
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04d9:1603 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0781:5406 SanDisk Corp. Cruzer Micro U3
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 050d:0234 Belkin Components F5U234 USB 2.0 4-Port Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hubiwconfig


Bus 002 Device 003: ID 046d:c00e Logitech, Inc. M-BJ58/M-BJ69 Optical Wheel Mouse
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04d9:1603 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0781:5406 SanDisk Corp. Cruzer Micro U3
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 050d:0234 Belkin Components F5U234 USB 2.0 4-Port Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
luke@luke-desktop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:eek:ff/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:eek:ff Fragment thr:eek:ff
Power Management:eek:n
rfkill list all


1: phy1: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
sudo iwlist scan


lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0 No scan results
lsmod | grep ath


No command 'ath' found, did you mean:
Command 'tth' from package 'tth' (multiverse)
Command 'ash' from package 'ash' (universe)
Command 'atd' from package 'at' (main)
Command 'atc' from package 'bsdgames' (universe)
Command 'atp' from package 'atp' (universe)
Command 'at' from package 'at' (main)
Command 'atq' from package 'at' (main)
ath: command not foundgmseg | grep ath


[ 0.804486] device-mapper: multipath: version 1.2.0 loaded
[ 0.804490] device-mapper: multipath round-robin: version 1.0.0 loaded
[ 7.220888] ath9k 0000:03:00.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LNEB] -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
[ 7.220896] ath9k 0000:03:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
[ 7.270246] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x809c
[ 7.270247] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a country code
[ 7.270249] ath: doing EEPROM country->regdmn map search
[ 7.270250] ath: country maps to regdmn code: 0x52
[ 7.270251] ath: Country alpha2 being used: CN
[ 7.270253] ath: Regpair used: 0x52
[ 7.619412] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'ath9k_rate_control'
[ 7.619924] Registered led device: ath9k-phy0::radio
[ 7.619939] Registered led device: ath9k-phy0::assoc
[ 7.619953] Registered led device: ath9k-phy0::tx
[ 7.619966] Registered led device: ath9k-phy0::rx
[ 622.680413] ath9k 0000:03:00.0: PCI INT A disabled
[ 622.680443] ath9k: Driver unloaded
[ 659.784789] ath9k 0000:03:00.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LNEB] -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
[ 659.784800] ath9k 0000:03:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
[ 659.833943] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x809c
[ 659.833944] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a country code
[ 659.833946] ath: doing EEPROM country->regdmn map search
[ 659.833947] ath: country maps to regdmn code: 0x52
[ 659.833949] ath: Country alpha2 being used: CN
[ 659.833950] ath: Regpair used: 0x52
[ 659.835514] ieee80211 phy1: Selected rate control algorithm 'ath9k_rate_control'
[ 659.836279] Registered led device: ath9k-phy1::radio
[ 659.836299] Registered led device: ath9k-phy1::assoc
[ 659.836318] Registered led device: ath9k-phy1::tx
[ 659.836339] Registered led device: ath9k-phy1::rx
it's my parents' router or whatever so i would prefer to not mess with it. i only have a wireless card on this computer... thanks a lot for any help :smile:

Wild Man
September 18th, 2011, 01:44 AM
Hi, I posted commands for you to run in this thread.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1836867&page=4
run them then post the results in this thread.
Thank you

118118
September 18th, 2011, 12:01 PM
i reinstalled ubuntu last night and this morning .briefly had a connection but it was very slow. i have replied in that thread you linked to

praseodym
September 18th, 2011, 02:46 PM
Shut off the power management and reload the driver with a module parameter:


sudo iwconfig wlan0 power off
sudo modprobe -rf ath9k
sudo modprobe -v ath9k nohwcrypt=1
sudo service network-manager restart
If it works make it permanent:


echo "options ath9k nohwcrypt=1" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf

118118
September 18th, 2011, 05:11 PM
no luck.

Wild Man
September 18th, 2011, 05:19 PM
Hi, we need to work in just one thread it is to confusing to me trying to work in both I do not know if you are answering me or the other person.

Please let work just in this one and post the results of these commands here.

lspci -nn | grep -e 0280 -e 0200

sudo iwlist scan
Thank you

118118
September 18th, 2011, 05:31 PM
hi. no problem.


the first command's output was as follows
lspci -nn | grep -e 0280 -e 0200
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)the second
... wlan0 no scan results:)

sorry about the edit.

Wild Man
September 18th, 2011, 05:33 PM
Hi, wow it is making it hard for us, try the first command this way just copy and past all commands it is easier that way.

lspci -nn
Thank you

118118
September 18th, 2011, 07:42 PM
lspci -nn
00:00.0 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge [10de:03e2] (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge [0601]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge [10de:03e1] (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus [0c05]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus [10de:03eb] (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller [10de:03f5] (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller [10de:03f1] (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller [10de:03f2] (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge [10de:03f3] (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device [0403]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio [10de:03f0] (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE [10de:03ec] (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge [0680]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet [10de:03ef] (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller [10de:03f6] (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller [10de:03f6] (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge [10de:03e8] (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge [10de:03e9] (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge [10de:03e9] (rev a2)
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] [10de:03d6] (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration [1022:1200]
00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map [1022:1201]
00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller [1022:1202]
00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control [1022:1203]
00:18.4 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control [1022:1204]
01:08.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306/7/8 [Fire II(M)] IEEE 1394 OHCI Controller [1106:3044] (rev 80)
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)


thank you

Wild Man
September 18th, 2011, 07:55 PM
Hi, please post the results of this command here:

lsmod
by clicking on new reply and click # and paste the information between the brackets.
Thank you

118118
September 18th, 2011, 09:51 PM
Module Size Used by
nls_iso8859_1 12617 1
nls_cp437 12751 1
vfat 17335 1
fat 55505 1 vfat
usb_storage 43946 1
uas 17676 0
ath9k 103633 0
mac80211 257001 1 ath9k
ath9k_common 13611 1 ath9k
ath9k_hw 300328 2 ath9k,ath9k_common
ath 19141 2 ath9k,ath9k_hw
cfg80211 156212 3 ath9k,mac80211,ath
snd_hda_codec_via 56765 1
binfmt_misc 13213 1
arc4 12473 2
snd_hda_intel 24140 4
snd_hda_codec 90901 2 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 13274 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 80244 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq_midi 13132 0
snd_rawmidi 25269 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 14475 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 51291 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
nouveau 621970 2
snd_timer 28659 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
ttm 65184 1 nouveau
snd_seq_device 14110 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
drm_kms_helper 40745 1 nouveau
drm 180037 4 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
ppdev 12849 0
parport_pc 32111 1
snd 55295 16 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_ hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_se q_device
psmouse 73312 0
k10temp 12951 0
soundcore 12600 1 snd
i2c_algo_bit 13184 1 nouveau
serio_raw 12990 0
video 18951 1 nouveau
i2c_nforce2 12906 0
snd_page_alloc 14073 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
lp 13349 0
parport 36746 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
usbhid 41704 0
hid 77084 1 usbhid
firewire_ohci 31504 0
firewire_core 56138 1 firewire_ohci
sata_nv 23176 2
crc_itu_t 12627 1 firewire_core
forcedeth 58190 0
pata_amd 13762 0

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 01:33 AM
There is a problem where some people never get this adapter to work but most do, I have a couple of thoughts.
1. Is your network hidden?
2. I still think you need make sure your router is set to wpa2 only.

dmesg | egrep 'rt2|firm|radio|switch'
post the results of this command please.

Your card is not scanning for networks.
Thank you

118118
September 19th, 2011, 03:47 PM
1. no it's not hidden
2. i can give it a shot


[ 7.761293] Registered led device: ath9k-phy0::radio
[ 8.417318] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x50
[ 94.144141] Registered led device: ath9k-phy0::radio

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 04:19 PM
Hi, try this command please with out your wired connection.

sudo rfkill unblock all
Thank you

118118
September 19th, 2011, 04:30 PM
nothing changes.

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 04:43 PM
Hi, post the results of these commands please:

ndiswrapper -l

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf

cat /etc/network/interfaces
Thank you

118118
September 19th, 2011, 05:07 PM
luke@luke-desktop:~$ ndiswrapper -l
The program 'ndiswrapper' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
sudo apt-get install ndiswrapper-common
luke@luke-desktop:~$ sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf
[sudo] password for luke:

(gedit:5417): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempting to store changes into `/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel', but failed: Failed to create file '/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel.MJEE2V': No such file or directory

(gedit:5417): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempting to set the permissions of `/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel', but failed: No such file or directory

(gedit:5417): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempting to store changes into `/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel', but failed: Failed to create file '/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel.G4BS1V': No such file or directory

(gedit:5417): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempting to set the permissions of `/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel', but failed: No such file or directorydocument was blank


luke@luke-desktop:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 05:13 PM
Hi, let do this please:

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf
Add a single line:

options ath9k nohwcrypt=1
Proofread carefully, save and close gedit. Reboot.
Thank you

118118
September 19th, 2011, 05:22 PM
hi - still no networks show up.

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 05:28 PM
Hi, try this command again please:

lsmod | grep ath

dmesg | grep firmware

ls /lib/firmware/ath9k
and post the results here.
Thank you

118118
September 19th, 2011, 06:00 PM
luke@luke-desktop:~$ lsmod | grep ath
ath9k 103633 0
mac80211 257001 1 ath9k
ath9k_common 13611 1 ath9k
ath9k_hw 300328 2 ath9k,ath9k_common
ath 19141 2 ath9k,ath9k_hw
cfg80211 156212 3 ath9k,mac80211,ath



luke@luke-desktop:~$ dmesg | grep firmware


luke@luke-desktop:~$ ls /lib/firmware/ath9k
ls: cannot access /lib/firmware/ath9k: No such file or directory
luke@luke-desktop:~$

btw is just found a cd that was bundled with this desktop with "for wireless n adapter only" written on it. don't know if that's relevant at all.

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 06:02 PM
Hi, no it is not. I am going to ask a friend to help us.
Thank you

praseodym
September 19th, 2011, 06:20 PM
Please show


uname -a
iwlist chan
This is a downgraded card with this chipset, it only works in the 2.4 GHz range, only works in a small-range with bad radio reception.

118118
September 19th, 2011, 07:36 PM
luke@luke-desktop:~$ uname -a
Linux luke-desktop 2.6.38-8-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Mon Apr 11 03:31:50 UTC 2011 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux
luke@luke-desktop:~$ iwlist chan
lo no frequency information.

eth0 no frequency information.

wlan0 13 channels in total; available frequencies :
Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
Channel 12 : 2.467 GHz
Channel 13 : 2.472 GHz
luke@luke-desktop:~$

oh - you mean my wireless hardware is poor quality?

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 07:46 PM
Hi, so you need to change your router to one of the channels listed and see if you can connect, also the encryption should be changed to wpa2 if is is not already.
Thank you

praseodym
September 19th, 2011, 09:02 PM
In notebooks there are often downgraded cards implemented, as you see, only the 2.4 GHz channels are available, so you have to change the channel to one of these, as wildmanne39 wrote before.

The driver ath9k is not the problem, it can also handle the 5 GHz channels

Wild Man
September 19th, 2011, 09:05 PM
Hi, thank you praseodym your knowledge is great, and I learned something I did not know about that card but it explains some of the trouble we have been having, plus the client was not wanting to change any settings in the router.
Thanks again

118118
September 20th, 2011, 03:13 PM
hi, thanks for the help! i've just got to find the password for the router now.

118118
September 20th, 2011, 03:17 PM
i typed iwcan list in my computer which does have a wireless connection and got the following


wlan0 11 channels in total; available frequencies :
Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
Current Frequency=2.437 GHz (Channel 6)is that relevant to whether this will work? might it just be that the card is so ****** that the signal cannot be picked up at this range... i have a airport extreme - that might help? though again i'd have to find the password to the router...

118118
September 20th, 2011, 04:42 PM
ok - so i'm about to reset my wireless router... can i just check that
a) there's no way to back it up without the admin password already anyway
b) you will be able to assist me here if i can't get wifi to work anywhere in the house then?


thanks :)

Wild Man
September 20th, 2011, 04:49 PM
Hi, yes that is relevant please post the complete results of:

nm-tool

sudo iwlist scan
I am not sure what you mean by back up your router?
Thank you

118118
September 26th, 2011, 05:21 PM
kk.
i am unable to access the router for a few days still. thanks!!

118118
October 6th, 2011, 03:20 PM
hi,

just to let you know that this appears to be solved now :D
thanks!

Wild Man
October 6th, 2011, 07:01 PM
Hi, I am glad it is fixed.

118118
October 14th, 2011, 08:54 PM
hi sorry to ask but my internet is very slow - might that be due to a low signal strength, despite it apparently running at a 65.0 Mbps speed?

praseodym
October 14th, 2011, 09:00 PM
Hi,

please show:


lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
iwconfig
sudo iwlist scan
lsmod

118118
November 25th, 2011, 05:25 PM
hi,

have recently moved home and do not have internet connection on the desktop still. there is a wireless connection available to my netbook that works fine in the same room. here's the output of those commands [for the desktop].


luke@luke-desktop:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
00:07.0 Bridge [0680]: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet [10de:03ef] (rev a2)
Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation 939NF6G-VSTA Board [1849:03ef]
Kernel driver in use: forcedeth
--
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Atheros Communications Inc. Device [168c:30a1]
Kernel driver in use: ath9k
luke@luke-desktop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off

luke@luke-desktop:~$ sudo iwlist scan
[sudo] password for luke:
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0 No scan results

luke@luke-desktop:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
nls_iso8859_1 12617 0
nls_cp437 12751 0
vfat 17335 0
fat 55505 1 vfat
udf 83795 0
ses 17137 0
enclosure 14656 1 ses
usb_storage 43946 0
uas 17676 0
snd_hda_codec_via 56765 1
snd_usb_audio 91410 0
binfmt_misc 13213 1
arc4 12473 2
snd_usbmidi_lib 24388 1 snd_usb_audio
snd_hda_intel 24140 2
snd_hda_codec 90901 2 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_intel
ath9k 103633 0
snd_hwdep 13274 2 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_codec
nouveau 621970 2
snd_pcm 80244 3 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
mac80211 257001 1 ath9k
snd_seq_midi 13132 0
snd_rawmidi 25269 2 snd_usbmidi_lib,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 14475 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 51291 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer 28659 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
ttm 65184 1 nouveau
ath9k_common 13611 1 ath9k
snd_seq_device 14110 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
ath9k_hw 300328 2 ath9k,ath9k_common
drm_kms_helper 40745 1 nouveau
ath 19141 2 ath9k,ath9k_hw
ppdev 12849 0
cfg80211 156212 3 ath9k,mac80211,ath
drm 180037 4 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
snd 55295 15 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_usb_audio,snd_usbmidi_lib,sn d_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_ra wmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
psmouse 73312 0
parport_pc 32111 1
soundcore 12600 1 snd
i2c_algo_bit 13184 1 nouveau
serio_raw 12990 0
video 18951 1 nouveau
i2c_nforce2 12906 0
snd_page_alloc 14073 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
k10temp 12951 0
lp 13349 0
parport 36746 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
firewire_ohci 31504 0
firewire_core 56138 1 firewire_ohci
usbhid 41704 0
hid 77084 1 usbhid
crc_itu_t 12627 2 udf,firewire_core
pata_amd 13762 0
forcedeth 58190 0
sata_nv 23176 2
luke@luke-desktop:~$



thank you very much for any assistance.

praseodym
November 25th, 2011, 06:12 PM
Try to upgrade the driver:


sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules-cw-2.6.39-natty-generic

Reboot and check again. Additionally you can shut off the hardware encryption:

echo "options ath9k nohwcrypt=1" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf
sudo modprobe -rfv ath9k
sudo modprobe -v ath9k

118118
November 25th, 2011, 06:21 PM
i don't have internet access sol can't update the driver..?

will try the other thing now.

praseodym
November 25th, 2011, 06:27 PM
Which kernel is that? Please show:


uname -a

118118
November 25th, 2011, 06:30 PM
i tried those commands and no luck

118118
November 25th, 2011, 06:32 PM
Which kernel is that? Please show:

Linux luke-desktop 2.6.38-8-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Mon Apr 11 03:31:50 UTC 2011 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux

:)

118118
November 27th, 2011, 12:35 AM
hi,

no more help with this :guitar: ??

praseodym
November 27th, 2011, 01:59 PM
Ok, install the latest kernel, headers, and drivers:

http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/l/linux/linux-image-2.6.38-12-generic_2.6.38-12.51_i386.deb

http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/l/linux/linux-headers-2.6.38-12-generic_2.6.38-12.51_i386.deb

http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/l/linux/linux-headers-2.6.38-12_2.6.38-12.51_all.deb

http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/l/linux-meta/linux-backports-modules-cw-2.6.39-natty-generic_2.6.38.12.27_i386.deb

http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/l/linux-backports-modules-2.6.38/linux-backports-modules-cw-2.6.39-2.6.38-12-generic_2.6.38-12.8_i386.deb

Save the files in "Downloads", install them by


sudo dpkg -i ~/Downloads/*.deb
and reboot.

118118
November 27th, 2011, 06:52 PM
cool. thanks!


will let you know...

118118
November 27th, 2011, 10:58 PM
since doing this, i have the error message after bootup, in the top right of the screen

"Intall Problem: the configuration for GNOME power manager have been been installed correctly. Please contact your adminstrator".

Also, my password is not logging me in!



:popcorn:
edit it's not an authentication problem.

118118
November 27th, 2011, 11:05 PM
oh and i rebooted the computer through the same terminal that i used to install the .deb packages [from a flash drive - which i "safely removed" before using on the desktop that i am trying to fix].

praseodym
November 27th, 2011, 11:19 PM
Hold the SHIFT-button during boot-up and choose an earlier kernel

118118
November 28th, 2011, 09:24 PM
Hold the SHIFT-button during boot-up and choose an earlier kernel
hi,

this did not do anything - i got the same new fancy screen and error message.
BTW i only had about 40 MBs of space left on the drive. I am sorry for not mentioning this, though hopefully nothing has been lost!

praseodym
November 28th, 2011, 10:43 PM
This is pretty bad, maybe swapping didnt work, so the installation went bad.

Boot via Live-CD, the hard disk is then automatically mounted to "/media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers", check that. After that mount anything you need in the Live-system:


sudo mount -o bind /dev /media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers/dev
sudo mount -o bind /sys /media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers/sys
sudo mount -t proc /proc /media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers/proc
sudo cp /proc/mounts /media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers/etc/mtab
sudo cp /etc/resolv.conf /media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers/etc/resolv.conf
After that change to the installed system:

sudo chroot /media/verylongfoldernamewithnumbers /bin/bash
and repair it/clean up:

apt-get autoremove
apt-get autoclean
apt-get clean
update-initramfs -u
If you have any internet connection with Live-CD update your system (Recommended! Try a cable!):

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
apt-get dist-upgrade
apt-get clean
exit #now you are back in the live system
Reboot the regular system.

Remark: If you have a /boot-partition you need to mount it, too. If so, please show with regular Live-CD without doing anything else (or if you are unsure)

sudo fdisk -l

Wild Man
November 29th, 2011, 02:07 AM
Hi, also you say that you only have 40 mbs of disk space free, if root is felled up it will not boot, you will need to free up some space.

118118
November 29th, 2011, 04:27 PM
i am trying to boot from a flash drive atm but nothing is happening quickly...


please may i ask - my priority now is to save the files that are on my ubuntu disc. i would try to go into windows [it's dual boot] and access them but ubuntu starts [and fails] to load automatically when the computer is restarted, rather than giving me the option of which OS to load. how can i force the computer to let me choose on startup - esp that is if this live-usb is not going to work..?

i mean if i do that then i am happy to just reformat the ubuntu partition...

:popcorn::popcorn:

praseodym
November 29th, 2011, 04:38 PM
With Live-CD you should see the windows partitions in the file manager

118118
November 29th, 2011, 05:04 PM
sorry to be so demanding but... i don't have startupmanager installed and don't have an internet connection yet. i had been using a terminal command so that when i rebooted it started in windows. but i've lost the command... any help??

praseodym
November 29th, 2011, 05:25 PM
Here

http://de.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/s/startupmanager/startupmanager_1.9.13-5_all.deb

118118
November 29th, 2011, 05:47 PM
hi,

lots of dependency problems here...
http://ziga.hamsworld.net/2010/03/26/reboot-to-windows-shortcut-for-ubuntu-9-10-grub-2/ i am trying to follow this [as i did before] but i get an error message half way through when typing sudo update-grub
because i'm running ubuntu from usb?

what alternatives do i have to load windows?

118118
November 29th, 2011, 06:33 PM
i am in the process of transferring a load of files to the windows partition. once that's done, can i just reinstall from the USB to sort out the issue with the kernel upgrade?

praseodym
November 29th, 2011, 06:49 PM
Yes, if you are overwriting the old Linux partition(s)

118118
November 30th, 2011, 11:12 AM
ok... i am reinstalling ubuntu. how might i get the wireless connection to work?


BTW i am also struggling to share a wireless connection with this pc via ethernet http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=11500669#post11500669

praseodym
November 30th, 2011, 03:01 PM
Deactivate the hardware encryption as described and reboot after the installation. You may want to update the system via cable first, if possible

118118
December 3rd, 2011, 03:05 PM
i can't see any posts here mentioning hardware encryption!

thanks.

praseodym
December 3rd, 2011, 03:29 PM
#38 in this thread

118118
December 3rd, 2011, 06:54 PM
did those commands...