PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I need a straight forward remote connection method.

masterkale
September 16th, 2011, 02:53 AM
Ok my sister recently moved away and has a laptop running ubuntu 8.10. Now she is having issues installing a printer driver. I need the simplest way I can get remote access (command line is fine) to her machine. She is only able to do minimal setup on her end because of her lack of linux knowledge. I am running mac os but have access to windows too.

Does anyone have a direction I should be looking in or maybe a tutorial? I don't know whether to go with ssh, vnc or something entirely different. I appreciate the advice, thank you.

dansang
September 16th, 2011, 03:02 AM
Team Viewer is a good easy to setup graphical way! ssh is good if you can get it working on both your sisters machine server and yours the client. Although i am having problems with ssh myself at the moment and as i've never done ssh before am struggling.

Perhaps your sister may have more knowledge then me!

Sorry i can't help further.

agillator
September 16th, 2011, 05:22 AM