PDA

View Full Version : Should I install Oneiric? I am a linux newbie

jonashendrickx
September 15th, 2011, 02:28 PM
I am a linux newbie, I know basic commands. Should I install the latest Oneiric build? I noticed there are daily builds... Does this mean I will have to update on a daily basis as well?

Will I be able to update to the RTM or final release SAFELY?
Does bumblebee work well?
Will I have many issues? Since I am scared of instability with Linux since I don't know how to fix it most of the time.

I like GNOME 3 that's why I want to try Oneiric in the first place...

But I was wondering if Gnome 3 will work on a 2630QM integrated GPU in the first place...

flipper T
September 15th, 2011, 02:30 PM
wait for final release, then try it out with live cd.

only a month to go.

PuddingKnife
September 15th, 2011, 02:47 PM
I am a linux newbie, I know basic commands. Should I install the latest Oneiric build?

Sure.

I noticed there are daily builds... Does this mean I will have to update on a daily basis as well?

Its a beta..bug fixes and updates are coming down the pipeline all the time. If you download a daily build and install it, and run updates every day, you will eventually have the final version of 11.10.

Will I be able to update to the RTM or final release SAFELY?

As I said above, d/ling a daily build and updating it consistently will leave you with the final version.

Does bumblebee work well?

I dont know what that is.

Will I have many issues? Since I am scared of instability with Linux since I don't know how to fix it most of the time.

If "issues" and instability are scary to you, then you might want to rethink your motivation to install a beta version of an entire operating system on your computer.

I like GNOME 3 that's why I want to try Oneiric in the first place...

Oneiric isn't the only place to find Gnome 3.

But I was wondering if Gnome 3 will work on a 2630QM integrated GPU in the first place...

Try a live CD/USB and find out.

ronacc