PDA

View Full Version : Civilization 5



Lumbeast
September 14th, 2011, 09:16 PM
I installed civilization 5 and when i run it through steam a black screen shows with the mouse cursor and music. Can anyone help me solve this problem? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

Toz
September 20th, 2011, 01:48 AM
WineHQ is a good resource for running games in wine. Here is the Civilization 5 on steam page: http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=21465. There are plenty of suggestions there - including some about the blank screen issue. Specifically:

RE: ATI
by Jeremy VIES on Wednesday November 3rd 2010, 10:06
I play with an ati hd4650.
i've followed these instructions from above :

[...]
winetricks d3dx9 vcrun6 vcrun6sp6 vcrun2003 vcrun2005 vcrun2008 vcrun2010

don't install directx or vcrun2008 from the game dvd

winetricks ddr=opengl (higher refresh rate)
[...]

and in games I've set all graphics to "normal/medium", if you set it too low or too high, you can't play because of glitches.