PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No wireless at all..

stephafrain
September 14th, 2011, 08:13 AM
Hello all, my name is Stephen. I am fairly new to the Ubuntu area and decided just a little while ago to set up Xubuntu on my Toshiba NB505 Netbook. The last time I used Ubuntu was quite a while back on a Notebook I used to share with someone.

Anywho, I have a problem with enabling my wireless card on this blasted thing. Ive tried installing the driver, which was the process of finding my wireless driver with the .inf extention. I simply didnt even know where to look so I downloaded the original .exe file and changed it to an inf file. I then followed some Ubuntu instructions to install "ndisgtk" which happed to be a 'Windows Wireless Driver" installer, that needed inf files to install with. I tried to install via this program and ended up with an error while installing. It told me something along the lines of "Wrong Driver" or some such. I have no clue if changing the exe to an inf was a no no, I'm still learning in this area of computer technics.

But for further info, I don't even see any option anywhere to change my network preferences or w/e you want to call it, nor do I see anything that has to even do with wireless networking. All I have is the ethernet connection, which works just fine.

If anyone would kindly help out with this problem I would be extremely thankful. If there are any more questions please feel free to ask.

Cheers-
stephafrain
-
Stephen.

garvinrick4
September 14th, 2011, 08:31 AM
Tell the users the Network card you have:

lspci -k
Just need the Network controller wireless card and driver out of the output copy and paste
to this thread you started.

tommpogg
September 14th, 2011, 08:31 AM
Welcome to the forum.

I am not an expert of drivers and wireless. Anyway, I will give you a suggestion that once it solved my problem: is the On/Off WiFi toggle switch on the front of the laptop switched on?