PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ralink 5390 wifi card in Ubuntu 10.04



bookworm4life
September 13th, 2011, 02:55 PM
I just installed Ubuntu 10.04.03 on a HP Pavilion G6, everything works fine except that the wireless networking does not show up in the network menu. From what I have read here and on other forums it is a common problem with a "simple" solution.

I have seen a couple of solutions listed below.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1645716 (This is the one I tried to follow)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1740963
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1780954

I was able to find the driver off the Ralink website and unpack it but that is as far as I got. I am not really new to Ubuntu but it has always "just worked" for me and I have never even had to open the terminal before today.

I made it to step 5 and then got confused. I am not even sure how the "make" and "make install" commands work, and even less sure about actually using them.

If anyone could give me some pointers I would greatly appreciate it. Or if anyone wanted to volunteer to show me how to do it via remote desktop sometime this weekend(assuming i could figure that out) that would be even more wonderful.

For now however I need to hit the hay because I have to wake up for work in a couple of hours. I will be sure to check back here before I leave this afternoon and maybe even a few times at work.

Thanks for any help you are able to give me.

praseodym
September 13th, 2011, 03:08 PM
Hi,

please show:


lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
lsusb
lsmod
iwconfig

bookworm4life
September 13th, 2011, 09:34 PM
I ran into a bit of other trouble when I got up this afternoon. I went to turn it on and the display did not work. I also tried using the external display without success.

I think I came across threads relating to this issue while I was browsing this morning and I will check them out to see what I can come up with.

I guess this is is what I get for buying a brand new laptop and expecting it to work right out of the box. I wish I could return it but I am pretty sure I voided the warranty when I deleted windows : ). Thanks for your reply and Ill post back here when I get the display up and running again.

PS Just out of curiosity what does this command do for me?






lspci -nnk | grep-iA2 net
lsusb
lsmod
iwconfig

praseodym
September 13th, 2011, 09:36 PM
These command show us your system info, PCI- and USB-devices, kernel-modules and wireless interfaces.

varunendra
September 14th, 2011, 10:32 AM
@ bookworm4life,

If everything except wifi was working fine as you mentioned in your first post, then it should still work in a live session. Boot off your live medium that you used to install Ubuntu (live cd or usb) and run the commands suggested by praseodym from there. If you can successfully boot into the live session, it may also help troubleshooting other issues like the one with your graphics now. In case any further error occurs, just post back describing the nature of the problem. HP uses pretty decent hardware, and Ubuntu 10.04 should work quite stably on it.

By the way, you should have learnt by now why backups are so important. Next time, consider making a system image using clonezilla or any of your favourite disk-imaging tools before messing up with a working installation :).

bookworm4life
September 16th, 2011, 11:10 AM
Sorry for the long delay....I am back and have the display working for the most part. Albeit nothing I did intentionally except leave it sit for a few days while I was away from home and turn it on when I got back.

At the moment I am connected to the internet on the laptop using and old Belkin USB dongle that I had laying around and that worked the instant I plugged it in.

I ran the commands you mentioned in the terminal and sadly am not sure I did it right because not all of them worked but this is what they showed:




:~$ lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1510]
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:9802]
00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:1314]
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
00:11.0 SATA controller [0106]: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [SATA and FC Enabled] [1002:4394]
Kernel driver in use: ahci
Kernel modules: ahci
00:12.0 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller [1002:4397]
Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
00:12.2 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller [1002:4396]
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:13.0 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller [1002:4397]
Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
00:13.2 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller [1002:4396]
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:14.0 SMBus [0c05]: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller [1002:4385] (rev 42)
Kernel driver in use: piix4_smbus
Kernel modules: i2c-piix4
00:14.2 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) [1002:4383] (rev 40)
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller [1002:439d] (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge [0604]: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge [1002:4384] (rev 40)
00:15.0 PCI bridge [0604]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:43a0]
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:15.1 PCI bridge [0604]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:43a1]
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:15.2 PCI bridge [0604]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:43a2]
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1700] (rev 43)
00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1701]
00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1702]
00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1703]
00:18.4 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1704]
00:18.5 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1718]
00:18.6 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1716]
00:18.7 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device [1022:1719]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 05)
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
06:00.0 Network controller [0280]: RaLink Device [1814:5390]
07:00.0 Class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device [10ec:5209] (rev 01)

:~$ grep-iA2 net
grep-iA2: command not found
(IF I AM DOING SOMETHING WRONG HERE LET ME KNOW)

:~$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:c517 Logitech, Inc. LX710 Cordless Desktop Laser
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04f2:b249 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 050d:705e Belkin Components
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
joydev 8740 0
hid_logitech 7388 0
ff_memless 4093 1 hid_logitech
usbhid 36110 1 hid_logitech
hid 67288 2 hid_logitech,usbhid
binfmt_misc 6587 1
ppdev 5259 0
arc4 1153 2
rtl8187 50680 0
mac80211 205402 1 rtl8187
snd_hda_codec_idt 52042 1
snd_hda_codec_atihdmi 2367 1
led_class 2864 1 rtl8187
snd_hda_intel 22069 2
snd_hda_codec 74201 3 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_codec_atihdmi,snd_hda_in tel
snd_seq_dummy 1338 0
snd_hwdep 5412 1 snd_hda_codec
cfg80211 126144 2 rtl8187,mac80211
snd_pcm_oss 35308 0
snd_mixer_oss 13746 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 70694 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_oss 26722 0
snd_seq_midi 4557 0
snd_rawmidi 19056 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 6003 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 47263 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
uvcvideo 57374 0
eeprom_93cx6 1333 1 rtl8187
snd_timer 19098 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 5700 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
fbcon 35102 71
tileblit 1999 1 fbcon
font 7557 1 fbcon
bitblit 4707 1 fbcon
softcursor 1189 1 bitblit
videodev 34361 1 uvcvideo
v4l1_compat 13251 2 uvcvideo,videodev
snd 54244 16 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_ hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_os s,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
psmouse 63677 0
serio_raw 3978 0
i2c_piix4 8335 0
video 17375 0
output 1871 1 video
vga16fb 11385 1
vgastate 8961 1 vga16fb
soundcore 6620 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 7076 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
lp 7028 0
parport 32635 2 ppdev,lp
r8169 34140 0
mii 4381 1 r8169
ahci 32360 2

:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"Brandon"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:1C:DF:CD:01:DC
Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=70/70 Signal level=-29 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

praseodym
September 16th, 2011, 11:26 AM
You need to install this driver for your device:

http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/ralink-rt-3391/#post-3208747

Just copy/paste the commands into the terminal.

bookworm4life
September 16th, 2011, 11:56 AM
Still doesnt seem to work. When asked yes or no I get an Abort message.


:~$ sudo apt-get install --reinstall linux-headers-$(uname -r) build-essential dkms patch fakeroot unzip
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
dpkg-dev g++ g++-4.4 libstdc++6-4.4-dev xz-utils
Suggested packages:
debian-keyring debian-maintainers g++-multilib g++-4.4-multilib gcc-4.4-doc
libstdc++6-4.4-dbg libstdc++6-4.4-doc diffutils-doc
The following NEW packages will be installed:
build-essential dkms dpkg-dev fakeroot g++ g++-4.4 libstdc++6-4.4-dev patch
xz-utils
0 upgraded, 9 newly installed, 2 reinstalled, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 7,820kB/8,601kB of archives.
After this operation, 25.1MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
Abort.

varunendra
September 16th, 2011, 04:04 PM
Did you press 'y' then 'enter' and still the 'Abort' message? Seems strange to me. What if you try to install the same packages via Synaptic (System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager > type package names in the search box)?

bookworm4life
September 16th, 2011, 07:38 PM
yes I pressed Y and then enter and got the abort message. I also thought it was strange. I will try the Synaptic package manager when I get home in the evenening. Thanks for the tip.

bookworm4life
September 19th, 2011, 02:04 PM
Hey everyone, I tried the Synaptic Package Manager and never did find the package there. So out of desperation I tried the Terminal route again and for reasons beyond me when I pressed Y it started working. It seemed like it worked and did its thing, but when it was done I still didn't see my hardware in the networking box. So I tried restarting with no luck and now here I am again. I tried the command again and it said that it was going to reinstall, so I assume the package was installed the first time.

I checked to see if it shows up with the first command I was given but I do not see it on the list.


user@Mobile1:~$ lspci -nnk | grep-iA2 net
grep-iA2: command not found
user@Mobile1:~$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04f2:b249 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 050d:705e Belkin Components
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
user@Mobile1:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
arc4 1153 2
rtl8187 50680 0
mac80211 205402 1 rtl8187
led_class 2864 1 rtl8187
cfg80211 126144 2 rtl8187,mac80211
eeprom_93cx6 1333 1 rtl8187
binfmt_misc 6587 1
ppdev 5259 0
snd_hda_codec_idt 52042 1
snd_hda_codec_atihdmi 2367 1
snd_hda_intel 22069 2
snd_pcm_oss 35308 0
snd_hda_codec 74201 3 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_codec_atihdmi,snd_hda_in tel
snd_hwdep 5412 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_mixer_oss 13746 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 70694 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq_dummy 1338 0
snd_seq_oss 26722 0
snd_seq_midi 4557 0
snd_rawmidi 19056 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 6003 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 47263 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
snd_timer 19098 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 5700 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
uvcvideo 57374 0
fbcon 35102 71
tileblit 1999 1 fbcon
font 7557 1 fbcon
bitblit 4707 1 fbcon
softcursor 1189 1 bitblit
videodev 34361 1 uvcvideo
v4l1_compat 13251 2 uvcvideo,videodev
video 17375 0
output 1871 1 video
snd 54244 16 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hd a_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_os s,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
psmouse 63677 0
serio_raw 3978 0
i2c_piix4 8335 0
vga16fb 11385 1
vgastate 8961 1 vga16fb
soundcore 6620 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 7076 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
lp 7028 0
parport 32635 2 ppdev,lp
ahci 32360 2
r8169 34140 0
mii 4381 1 r8169
user@Mobile1:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"Junxion_Box"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:02:6F:47:B4:D6
Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=70/70 Signal level=-33 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0d
And this is what shows up when I tried to install a second time.


-essential dkms patch fakeroot unzipux-headers-$(uname -r) build
[sudo] password for user:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 6 reinstalled, 0 to remove and 12 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/1,276kB of archives.
After this operation, 0B of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
I am even more confused at this point because it seemed like it should have worked.

praseodym
September 19th, 2011, 02:26 PM
Did you also install the driver itself and not only the compilation tools?


wget http://media.cdn.ubuntu-de.org/forum/attachments/3208747/angepasster-2011_0406_RT5390_RT5392_Linux_STA_V2.5.0.3_DPO.zip
unzip angepasster-2011_0406_RT5390_RT5392_Linux_STA_V2.5.0.3_DPO.zip
cd angepasster-2011_0406_RT5390_RT5392_Linux_STA_V2.5.0.3_DPO/
sudo make
sudo make install
sudo modprobe -v rt5390sta
sudo depmod -a
sudo update-initramfs -u

varunendra
September 19th, 2011, 03:27 PM
Since praseodym is handling the issue much better than I can, I'd only point out this (which has nothing to do with solution, only some more info will be available):



user@Mobile1:~$ lspci -nnk | grep-iA2 net
grep-iA2: command not found
The quoted command should have been

lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
Please notice that there is a space between grep and -iA2. I felt the urge to point this out as the same mistake is being repeated again and again in the thread.


@praseodym,

Please correct the error in your original post so that people following it don't repeat the mistake.

bookworm4life
September 19th, 2011, 04:11 PM
Thanks varunendra, I was wondering why I kept getting the command not recognized error.

The Ralink 5390 card did show up when I corrected the command, but still is not accessible in the networking menu.



~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 05)
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
06:00.0 Network controller [0280]: RaLink Device [1814:5390]
07:00.0 Class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device [10ec:5209] (rev 01)

praseodym
September 19th, 2011, 04:16 PM
Again: Did you also install the driver? If no, do so, if yes, load the module by hand:


sudo modprobe -v rt5390sta
sudo service network-manager restart

Edit: Typo in the named posting corrected, thanks to varunendra

bookworm4life
September 19th, 2011, 04:53 PM
Apparently the driver does not exist, or is under another name.



sudo modprobe -v rt5390sta
FATAL: Module rt5390sta not found.
user@Mobile1:~$ sudo service network-manager restart
network-manager start/running, process 1554

praseodym
September 19th, 2011, 05:23 PM
Try to install it again and reboot

CalSkeptic
September 19th, 2011, 09:32 PM
You need to install this driver for your device:

http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/ralink-rt-3391/#post-3208747

Just copy/paste the commands into the terminal.

Hey, thank you, praseodym. It does work!

I would note that I had to copy and paste each command separately into the terminal and wait for it to finish before continuing.