PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] auto eth0 working, but missing in Network Connections



robot1125
September 13th, 2011, 02:24 PM
I installed Natty Server on an iMac, and it works perfectly, including my wired ethernet connection.

I then installed ubuntu-desktop, and ran Network Connections in order to convert the default connection from DHCP to static. However, there are no entries at all, "auto ethX" or otherwise, in Network Connections. I know I can edit /etc/network/interfaces manually, but I prefer the GUI tools.

Here is /etc/network/interfaces:


# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Here is output of ifconfig:


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:cb:9a:cd:57
inet addr:192.168.1.103 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::216:cbff:fe9a:cd57/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:13022 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9340 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:11288045 (11.2 MB) TX bytes:1205106 (1.2 MB)
Interrupt:16

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1888 (1.8 KB) TX bytes:1888 (1.8 KB)

And here is what I see in Network Connections:

http://i.imgur.com/d1Qn3.png

Any ideas on how to fix this?

praseodym
September 13th, 2011, 03:11 PM
Hi,

wireless and wired interfaces defined in the "interfaces" file are ignored by the NM. Try to remove eth0 from the file or try Wicd instead, it can handle it. You need to deactivate the network-manager in autostart if using wicd.

robot1125
September 13th, 2011, 03:37 PM
If I remove the eth0 entry from interfaces and reboot, I can see an entry in NM now, but oddly, if I edit it and select Manual, the save button is grayed out so I can't save the changes. Very odd.

praseodym
September 13th, 2011, 04:18 PM
Try it via


gksu nm-connection-editor