PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] firmware-b43-installer error!!!

divyansh.sachdeva
September 11th, 2011, 01:31 PM
Here's the problem:

I'm new to Ubuntu and my wi-fi wasn't working, so I tried to install firmware-b43-lpphy-installer using Synaptic Package Manger. It didn't install and exited with error status 1. So I tried to uninstall the partial package and re-install the firmware-b43-installer, but it won't install now either.

It tries to connect to a remote mirror and exits with error status 4 after multiple unsuccessful attempts at connecting.

Also, now each time I boot up my system, a message window pops up saying that there's an error with the system files and points to firmware-b43-installer.

Please help, and also tell if I really do need to install it????

Details:

Laptop: Toshiba L650
Card: Broadcom BCM4313

Please help!!!

coffeecat
September 11th, 2011, 02:26 PM
I've closed your other thread here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1841982

Since you have complicated the situation with the firmware-b43-installer I haven't merged the two threads, but in future please do not create more than one thread on the same problem. It dilutes community effort.

But to your technical problem. The firmware-b43-installer package is not appropriate to your bcm4313 chipset. From your previous thread I see that there was evidence for both the open source driver and the proprietary STA driver being installed, and either of these should have worked, and you need to focus on those.

For now, post the complete and exact error that appears concerning the firmware-b43-installer. That may give a clue as to what needs to be done to purge it.

EDIT: also, I've moved the thread to Networking and Wireless. I can understand why you chose the Installation and Upgrade forum, but N&W is more appropriate and more likely to find you the help you need.

divyansh.sachdeva
September 11th, 2011, 02:48 PM
Sorry for the hassle. I see your point.