PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing special driver in Ubuntu

tontis
September 3rd, 2011, 10:14 AM
Hello,
I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu and i'd like some help installing a driver for an external sound card i've got from Line6 a few years ago.

I found this webpage (www.tanzband-scream.at/live6) where somebody developed a linux compatible driver (as far as I see supposedly including Ubuntu). www.tanzband-scream.at/live6

However I was reading the installing instructions and have been at it for a while with no success.
Firstly I tried using the .rpm intallation. After a while I realized it was no good(for red hat obviously hehe..) I tried converting the .rpm file into a .deb with Alien. It didn't work, said it was for amd64 system. I believe I have amd64.

Anyway I started trying to installing it directly with the source files, also from the webpage.

I tried the instructions from the web page - no good.
"tar xjf line6usb-0.8.1.tar.bz2
cd line6usb-0.8.1
make install"

So then I was trying to understand how to make a .deb file from the extracted source files, yet it just made my head spin... Anybody could help me please?

Thanks in advance.

sanderd17
September 3rd, 2011, 10:18 AM
The link doesn't work, please correct it.

And: when you try to build it from source, give us the output of the terminal. That way we can see where it goes wrong.

PS. Post anything code-related between CODE tags (click on the #-symbol).

tontis
September 4th, 2011, 09:40 AM
The link doesn't work, please correct it.

I've tried, doesnt work. But, if you copy and paste the url into a new window it does. http://www.tanzband-scream.at/line6/

And: when you try to build it from source, give us the output of the terminal. That way we can see where it goes wrong.

The code output:

agne@Bixo:~$ tar xjf /home/agne/line6usb-0.8.1.tar.bz2
agne@Bixo:~$ cd /home/agne/line6usb-0.8.1
agne@Bixo:~/line6usb-0.8.1$ make install
./set_revision.sh