PDA

View Full Version : Command Line Problem: AOM

laagamer
September 3rd, 2011, 12:25 AM
Hey what's up fellas! Wondering if you could help me out with what I think is a command line problem while trying to run Age of Mythology on my laptop. I'm really new to Ubuntu but I'm trying to learn as best I can. I already had a couple of DLL file problems and a problem with the disk-check that I was able to solve but I seem to have hit a brick wall. :(

I'm currently trying to run AOM on my laptop with "Ubuntu 9.10" through "Wine 1.3.15".

My "winecfg" is set to Windows XP, OSS Sound Driver, Hardware Acceleration = Emulation, Virtual Desktop (800x600), with a "pidgen (native,builtin)" overide in the library for the the PidGen.DLL and MFC42.DLL file replacements, as those files where originally missing and causing errors. I also got a NoCD-Crack version of AOM, so that I can run it without the disk and placed it in AOM's directory (NoCD-Crack file named "aom2.exe") to replace the original "aom.exe" game file. I already owned an original hard copy of AOM with a CD-key so I'm able to play it. When I placed the new "aom2.exe" game file in the AOM directory, I left the original "aom.exe" game file where it was, as I didn't think it would cause any conflicting problems.

I got the directions for winecfg and NoCD-Crack version off the Age of Mythology WineHQ Version 1.0 page:

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=2711

Currently when I try to run AOM through the desktop icon's default command prompt I get an "Insert CD1" popup. The default command for the icon is:

env WINEPREFIX="/home/nick/.wine" wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /Unix /home/nick/.wine/dosdevices/c:/users/Public/Desktop/Age\ of\ Mythology.lnk