PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fans, and yes ive looked.

DoofyRob
August 28th, 2011, 03:46 AM
I have looked at the threads about loud fans and lm-sensor, but they don seem to be for complete beginners. I am used Ubuntu, but Im still not familiar with it. ( for some reason my keyboard makes accents like this: ńǘ and i dont know how to make it normal for example.) does anyone have a full step by step newbie walk through of how to quiet fans?

fleamour
August 28th, 2011, 06:02 AM
Fans run at the speed they should, unless dust build up is causing problems. You do not state whether desktop/tower PC or laptop.

If desktop PC then you can purchase quieter fans from:

http://www.quietpc.com/

However you would need to be comfortable with opening up your PC. You get what you pay for. Sometimes the PSU (Power Supply Unit) is the noisy culprit, but getting a box to run quieter will usually cost some dollars.

If a laptop, then there is not an awful lot you can do other than clean the heatsink/fan/airways with some canned air.

I hope this helps...

EDIT [afterthought]: You may want to check thermal throttling for the fans in BIOS.

LowSky
August 28th, 2011, 09:07 AM
the keyboard accent thing is an entire other issue.
Go to keyboard preferences to fix.

As for fans... if its a desktop, buy quieter ones, or a fan controller.
If its a laptop, it could be a sensor issue, you may need your exact model for more information.

3rdalbum
August 28th, 2011, 09:22 AM
Set up the BIOS to control them itself. It will control them more efficiently and more safely than any pure software driver could.

I've never understood why Windows PCs come with extra software to control the fans, when the ability to do it is already built into the motherboard. What happens if the software crashes when running the fans slowly, and then you decide to do some gaming? Your computer would crash too due to thermal overload.

Mark Phelps
August 28th, 2011, 03:47 PM