PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] server connection configuration

louie2114
August 27th, 2011, 05:54 AM
hello, ubuntu genius!

i'm totally new to ubuntu, if anyone out there could please help me.

i have two computers in my room:

one is installed with win7 where i do most of my works. im using wifi to connect this pc to the internet.

in one special place sits a dell optiplex745 box with 1GB RAM and an 80GB HDD.in this second box, i installed LAMP using ubuntu server 10.4 LTS. i have not installed anything in this box except those packages that come from ubuntu as i wish to make it as a standalone server, not even a GUI.on top of this box is where my modem rests with a cable connected to it for internet access.

my questions (please bear with me as i have lots of questions):
1. how can i access my server from my windows pc? is it through what is called ftp connection? if it is, what is its configuration process? (both windows and ubuntu)

2. can i manipulate PHP, phpMyAdmin and/or SQL in my server from my win7 pc? how?

i am a newbie in web designing using CS3 and manipulating them trough PHP and SQL (phpMyAdmin). as of now, i am doing all of these in my windows pc installing a WAMP server on it. so far, designing with WAMP works fine but i trust the robustness of ubuntu to carry out server handling more than windows - my reason to venture this other box. the concept that i wish to relay is this: i will do exactly the same CS3 web designing in my windows pc but, instead of using WAMP in the same pc (localhost/server_name/page_name.php), i will be using LAMP from that other box. could this be possible? do i need to install additional applications from windows or packages from ubuntu to make it work? (btw, every time i run the ubuntu server, everything works fine [OK], except *check syslog for diagnostics [failed] - mention this just in case this has something to do with the process later on).