PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Semi-headless Server VNC

spookybathtub
August 25th, 2011, 09:08 PM
Hi everyone. I'm a mac guy, so I am pretty familiar with terminal, but I'm very new to linux. Hopefully someone can help solve this problem:
I've been reading several threads regarding headless VNC operation, but none of them apply to my situation exactly. I'm running Ubuntu 10.04 on a semi-headless machine. It's primary job is a headless server, but I also want to use it occasionally as an HTPC with Boxee. So it's connected to my 1080p TV via HDMI. My video card is an integrated Radeon HD 4250.

When I connect using VNC, I see the 1920x1080 display correctly, and can move the mouse, but I can't see the results of what I'm clicking on. e.g. if I click the Applications menu, I don't see the menu open. If I turn on the TV, I can see that all my keyboard/mouse actions are being recognized just fine, so I could essentially use VNC as a wireless input device. But I need to be able to use it without the TV on.

I've tried the xorg.conf settings here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1297815), but that does nothing for me. I've attached my xorg.conf.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Wayne_V
August 25th, 2011, 09:21 PM
I've never configured X for VNC headless but I do a similar sort of thing with x11vnc. I put this in /etc/rc.local:

/usr/bin/x11vnc -shared -bg -o /var/log/x11vnc.log -avahi -forever -auth /home/<user>/.Xauthority -rfbauth /home/<user>/.vnc/passwd -ncache 10 -xkb -display :0

then create create the .vnc/passwd file as <user> with vncpasswd

then, you can connect using any vnc client and have full control over your :0 display.

You don't need to add that to rc.local if you don't want -- you can just ssh in and kick off x11vnc with out the -bg I think, and then when the vnc client exits x11vnc will exit as well. The -xkb option is a tweak for vnc clients on MAC - without it the shift key doesn't work. You may not need it.

spookybathtub