PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Absolute beginner

Carbonara
August 25th, 2011, 12:34 AM
Hi there,

I just learned about the Ubuntu, and is trying to download one into my windows7.

I am using the Wubi now, during the installation process, it asked me to opt for the place to install while I have a few partitions in my harddisk. I just wonder should I install it in the C: drive or should I install in other partition? thanks.

Rex Bouwense
August 25th, 2011, 12:44 AM
Since WUBI is meant for an introduction to Ubuntu, you will either be uninstalling it because you do not like it or doing a real dual boot in the near future because you do. You can install it on an extended partition or anywhere you like. See:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wubi
:popcorn:

Carbonara
August 25th, 2011, 12:57 AM
Thanks, and what is the optimal installation size I should allocate for Ubuntu?

Rex Bouwense
August 25th, 2011, 12:58 AM
I believe that the maximum is 30 Gbs if installed with WUBI.

Carbonara
August 25th, 2011, 01:21 AM
thanks, and actually what is the difference between the Wubi and the real dual boot?

I can see at this link, it says Wubi can runs with windows.
And would like to know if the first option "download and install" id the dual boot that you've mentioned ?
http://www.ubuntu.com/download

As my desktop will be share with my other family members using the Win7, if I download a 64-bit from the first option "download and install", can it run with window7 too?

MG&TL
August 25th, 2011, 01:28 AM
As I understand it, WUBI is a 'program' that runs in windows, whereas a dual-boot actually partitions your harddrive and installs a bootloader so you can choose between the two. WUBI, however, is not the most stable thing on the planet, so I would suggest booting from USB or VirtualBox instead. Until you want a dual-boot. :)

not found
August 25th, 2011, 01:28 AM