PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Installing and un-installing zip files and nonrepository platform independent filesFi

PcMojo
August 21st, 2011, 04:26 PM
First of all, I want to thank the thousands of contributors and the forum itself for the tons of knowledge you make available to us and the endless hours spent helping others. I've been using linux for about two years and have not made many posts - because I haven't had to. :) I've trashed my system at least a half dozen times and have been able to recover it just by reading others' posts. Thank you all very much! (I'd give you all a "thumbs up" smilie, but I can't find one, so have some :popcorn: instead!)

On to my questions. I come from an Ms world and while I understand zip files and exe files, I don't understand platform independent applications. I usually install Linux applications through KpackageKit or Synaptics because it's easy, I feel safer, and I can uninstall without wasted cleanup efforts. I don't go out to the internet and randomly download and install programs. But recently, I came across a very large suite of platform independent applications that I really want to try. They are only available as a zip file. If I like them I will eventually install them on another computer, but I want to try them on this, my current Kubuntu:KS PC. Regardless of whether I like them or not, I will eventually un-install them from this pc. My questions are these:

1) How do I install platform independent zip files into Kubuntu? - I've seen tutorials showing how to unzip in linux, but in M$ I knew to look for an exe, usually setup.exe to run the install program. Since it is platform independent, do I run setup.exe or is there usually an equivalent linux file I should be looking for?