PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] LYNX one sound card with ubuntu and Ardour?

steven lawton
August 17th, 2011, 08:39 PM
hello

I want to install a lynx one sound card with ubuntu 11.04 and ardour 2.8.x.
I am completely new to linux and have done so much fumbling i had to re-install os again! can somebody tell me or send a link as What the following instructions from open sound 4front tech means or what i should do to install their driver oss-linux 4.2-2005_i386.deb
:
warning Linux 2.6 kernel with kernel sources (or kernel headers), GCC Compiler, Binutils,
GNU Make, GTK/GLIB 2.0 libraries must be installed before you can install OSS. Please consult
your Linux distributorís manuals on how to install and prepare the kernel sources so that external
drivers and modules can be compiled for your kernel.

do i have to make adjustments to my operating system in order to install the correct driver

pi.boy.travis
August 17th, 2011, 10:15 PM
You probably won't have to install a special driver for the sound card. Just hook it up and see if it's recognized. If it isn't we'll go from there.

steven lawton
August 18th, 2011, 04:53 PM
my device will not list under system sounds and i dont know how to install driver
there is a warning from oss i would like to troubleshoot this first

"warning Linux 2.6 kernel with kernel sources (or kernel headers), GCC Compiler, Binutils,
GNU Make, GTK/GLIB 2.0 libraries must be installed before you can install OSS. Please consult
your Linux distributor’s manuals on how to install and prepare the kernel sources so that external
drivers and modules can be compiled for your kernel."

do i have to make adjustments to my operating system in order to install the correct driver

pi.boy.travis
August 18th, 2011, 09:37 PM
Try installing this first:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

That should give you all the dependencies for building your own modules.

steven lawton
August 18th, 2011, 11:43 PM