PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Getting online wirelessly?!

varietas
August 15th, 2011, 03:41 PM
Greetings, all!

I'm brand new to the world of Linux and I'm loving it so far... except for being able to connect wirelessly.

Here's my deal: I'm trying to get 11.04 to connect through a Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe.

Enable Networking is checked under the network icon, but beneath that Enable Wireless is grayed out. The indicator lights on my laptop tell me that wireless is enabled and the radio switch is on.

Please help me out!

TeoBigusGeekus
August 15th, 2011, 03:51 PM
Have you checked in the Hardware Drivers whether there is a proprietary drivers for your chip?
If there is one, connect your pc to your router with a udp cable, download them and install them.

varietas
August 15th, 2011, 03:57 PM
running sudo lshw -C network gives me this

...driver=rt2800pci driverversion=2.6.38-10-generic-pae...

How do I know if this is proprietary or not? If it is, will I need to use an NdisWrapper?

TeoBigusGeekus
August 15th, 2011, 04:00 PM
Go to Administration>System>Hardware Drivers.
See if any drivers are listed there.

Bucky Ball
August 15th, 2011, 04:06 PM
Welcome.

http://www.ralinktech.com/support.php?s=2

Third one on the list. Your card looks like it's up on this driver already though (you probably just have a setting wrong). Stay well away from Ndiswrapper. You shouldn't need it, 'specially for this card, and it is largely superseded.

Please give results of:

iwconfig
ifconfig
sudo lshw -C networkFull result of the last one thanks. And as TeoBG mentioned, anything in System>Admin>Additional Drivers? ;)

varietas
August 15th, 2011, 04:08 PM
I am using Unity, so I think the file path is a little different...

This is what I did: Control Center>Hardware>Additional Drivers

The result I got lists only one proprietary driver (for a graphics card) that is already installed and running. No other drivers were listed.

TeoBigusGeekus