PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Firefox profile in apparmor skipped on startup

donsy
August 9th, 2011, 06:30 PM
I have quiet splash disabled so I can see what boot processes are run on startup, and I notice that on every time I boot my computer the Firefox profile is skipped. Here's the message:
Skipping profile in /etc/apparmor.d/disable: usr.bin.firefox I checked /etc/apparmor.d/disable, and see that there is indeed a link to usr.bin.firefox. So I'm wondering how/why it got there. I haven't touched anything in AppArmor since my clean install of Natty. Can I or should I remove it? I'm an AppArmor noob.

FuturePilot
August 9th, 2011, 10:00 PM
It's disabled by default.

donsy
August 9th, 2011, 10:09 PM
It's disabled by default.

Not much info there. Like I said I'm an AppArmor noob. So what should I do? Enable it? How? By deleting the link in the /etc/apparmor.d/disable directory?

Dave_L
August 9th, 2011, 10:20 PM
To enable the firefox profile, delete /etc/apparmor.d/disable/usr.bin.firefox.

FuturePilot
August 10th, 2011, 02:59 AM
Not much info there. Like I said I'm an AppArmor noob. So what should I do? Enable it? How? By deleting the link in the /etc/apparmor.d/disable directory?
Do you want it enabled? It's disabled by default because it will break certain functionality of Firefox. (usually plugins)
If you want it enabled see here https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AppArmor#How%20can%20I%20enable%20AppArmor%20for%2 0Firefox?

To enable the firefox profile, delete /etc/apparmor.d/disable/usr.bin.firefox.

No, that is not the correct way to do it. See the link above.

twipley
August 11th, 2011, 02:09 AM
Indeed, the correct command is:

sudo aa-enforce /etc/apparmor.d/usr.bin.firefox

Then verification through
sudo apparmor_status

I believe the Firefox profile is included by default in Ubuntu releases starting from 11.10, however it comes unactivated.