PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Trouble running python programs

moorhead98
August 3rd, 2011, 09:49 PM
I am totally new to programming in general. I wanted something that was easy and looked like actual English, and was used in ubuntu.
So I turned to python. Right now I'm just writing basic text programs, nothing advanced. I use IDLE (with python 2.7) for writing/running my puny programs. I saved them to my computer, and marked them as executable with chmod. but when i double click the file, and it gives me the option of running the program, running it in a terminal, or displaying it, clicking run/in terminal, nothing happens.
I thought a solution to that would be right-clicking, open with..., other application; then clicking on idle or something like that. but it shows no such option.
Is there any way to either: 1) get hitting run/in terminal to produce something
or
2) finding a way to open files with idle

Any thoughts?

7cardcha
August 3rd, 2011, 10:00 PM
You can open files with IDLE and press F5 to run them. Press Ctrl-O to bring up the open menu

cgroza
August 3rd, 2011, 11:15 PM
You could follow the above suggestion, but you could just run it from the command line with:

python filename.py

No need to make it executable.

moorhead98
August 3rd, 2011, 11:36 PM
You could follow the above suggestion, but you could just run it from the command line with:

python filename.py
No need to make it executable.

Ok, that worked when i embedded a terminal in nautilus and then ran the code. But in a regular terminal, would it be
python your/directory/here/pythonprogram.pyAnd, im still just wondering, is there any way to run it in idle without the use of a terminal? or opening idle then the program?
if your wondering why im trying to find another way, its just because i'm lazy.

moorhead98
August 3rd, 2011, 11:38 PM
You can open files with IDLE and press F5 to run them. Press Ctrl-O to bring up the open menu