PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] NULL and HEAP in C

shashanksingh
August 3rd, 2011, 01:51 PM
Hi.

Iv'e done most of my programming in Java, and I'm new to C.

I was wondering...

1.What is a NULL value in C? in Java, we often have variables that do not point to something as NULL (string s; s is null here, so I can check that in Java. How do I do so in C??). The closest analogy I could make is that of an uninitialized pointer in C, but that has some garbage and not NULL.

2.Is there a HEAP in C as well? Which objects are stored in it? I think most of OOP objects are stored in a HEAP and not the program Stack.

thanks

Bachstelze
August 3rd, 2011, 02:11 PM
1. NULL is a macro that expands to a null pointer constant. A null pointer constant can be either an integer constant with value 0, or such a constant cast to a void*.

2. Memory is allocated on the heap when you allocate it with malloc, calloc or realloc. I wouldn't swear on it but I think it's the only case where it is allocated on the heap. If you just declare a variable, the memory for it is allocated on the stack.

slavik
August 3rd, 2011, 02:12 PM
1. NULL == 0 == '\0'
2. malloc() family of functions allocate memory on the heap and return a pointer to it

karlson
August 3rd, 2011, 02:43 PM
Hi.

Iv'e done most of my programming in Java, and I'm new to C.

I was wondering...

1.What is a NULL value in C?

NULL == 0

in Java, we often have variables that do not point to something as NULL (string s; s is null here, so I can check that in Java. How do I do so in C??). The closest analogy I could make is that of an uninitialized pointer in C, but that has some garbage and not NULL.

A lot of languages denote the concept of NOTHING as NULL, unfortunately C does not really have that given what it was designed to do. The uninitialized pointer in C is not NULL it is initialized to the value currently in memory used for pointer. So the closest analogy to the concept you are describing in Java or Perl is: