PDA

View Full Version : Programming language

Inodoro Pereyra
July 24th, 2011, 08:10 PM
Hello everybody.:)

First, let me say I have made a search, and read several threads on this subject, some which even have the same title as this one.The reason I'm opening this thread is because I didn't find what I'm looking for in any of them.

I've been a member of this forum for almost 2 years now, and my one constant has been that I always come to ask questions, and never to help anybody, because, at the end of the day, I don't know squat about any of this. I don't particularly like that.

So, my questions are:

1. What would be a good programming language to learn, in order to better understand Ubuntu, and, in the nearest possible future, to be able to develop a good dynamometer program?

2. Can you suggest any books, to learn that language from "0"?

As a bit of a background, I'm an electronics technician (though I haven't worked in electronics for a long time), and have done some programming in the past, mostly hex, on a MC6800 developing kit, and some basic, on my first computer (a TI 99/4A. Yeah, I'm THAT old. :)). That said, I haven't done any programming at all in the last 25 years or so, and the only thing I remember about it is that I used to love hex, and basic...not so much.

So, that's about it. Any help will be greatly appreciated. :D

slavik
July 24th, 2011, 08:36 PM
we will not suggest a language here, there are plenty enough discussions as is. pick any one language (read the sticky threads, please). and if you have specific questions, we will welcome them.

nvteighen
July 24th, 2011, 09:22 PM
(Supongo que sos argentino, por el nick... jajaja. Te respondo en inglés porque son las normas acá...)

There are a couple of sticky threads on these forums that might help you about the basics: compilers, descriptions about programming languages, different kinds of tools and tutorials.