PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help Resolve Window Refresh Rate

Zixus
July 23rd, 2011, 02:03 AM
Hi, I recently upgraded to 11.04(fresh install) and tried out unity. After getting everything installed and working, I'm still trying to narrow down the cause of the random choppiness. On a couple forums vsync is thought to be the cause, but now I'm not so sure. I think I have narrowed it down to something like a window repaint event not getting called properly, or not enough(I'm a windows developer, so I don't know too much about how the window painter works in ubuntu). At this point, I'm out of ideas as this seems to be a core issue, or something so blatantly obvious that I cant see it. Heres what I have done and my troubleshooting steps.

I have verified that opengl is working with my gpu (I'm not software rendering).
My first run of glmark2 showed all framerates locked at 60fps, so I forced vsync off in the gpu control panel. Now glmark2 shows upward of 4000fps for all tests. The only problem is that I only see the last frame from each test.
I have disabled the 'Detect Refresh Rate' in the Composite plugin for compiz.
I have disabled 'Sync to VBlank' in the OpenGL plugin for compiz.

I cant think of anywhere else a vsync option would be. But I started thinking that vsync isnt the issue due to the fact that the choppiness, from say moving a window around, gets an estimated 2-10fps depending on the speed the window is dragged. If this really was a vsync issue, i should be getting 60fps moving a window. It doesn't seem feasible that my gpu can handle the expo zoom and not handle moving a window at 60fps(especially since moving windows in classic are perfectly smooth).