PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu open server - security

cavemaneca
July 22nd, 2011, 10:18 AM
Hello there, I'm kinda new to Linux... really I've only had experience with it for a few months.

Anyway, I've recently been running a game server from my desktop, as well as a web page to accompany it.
I use the ports 80/8123(HTTP)/5900(VNC)/50500(GAME)/5839(ADMINISTRATION).

What's the best solution to protect my server from security threats?

On a side note, I plan on adding a MySQL server later, but I want to keep it local only.

nevius
July 22nd, 2011, 12:27 PM
Don't use VNC. Administer the server via ssh. Use x11 forwarding if you need a GUI. Consider setting up a dedicated box as your game / http server. That way if the server is compromised it presumably won't contain any valuable data.

cavemaneca
July 22nd, 2011, 08:54 PM
Okay, that's nice to know, but what about security? I'm pretty sure by default if I just DMZ my computer it's gonna have poor security. What do I need to do to actually make it safer? Switching from VNC helps NOTHING if every other port is not secured, which I know don't know anything about on linux.

bodhi.zazen
July 22nd, 2011, 09:11 PM
If you are allowing public access , what is there to firewall ?

You need to secure each service, apache, VNC, and whatever game you are running.

Dangertux
July 22nd, 2011, 09:18 PM
As has been stated VNC really shouldn't be exposed, or even used IMO. There are many other alternatives X11 forwarding was given, and is a smart choice if you need a GUI.

I also agree that if you allow public access to a service a firewall is somewhat more irrelevant. (Granted it can still give you some benefit if configured properly)

Also what do you mean by every port being secured? This is a result of myths propegated by site's like Shields Up, don't get me wrong Steve Gibson has some good stuff to say particularly in the Windows world. However, those types of sites give the wrong impression to newer users.