PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrading from redhat9 to ubuntu64, static name/ip prob

VibrantCascade
July 12th, 2011, 02:37 PM
Hi there, I'm trying to replace an old computer with red hat linux 9 with a new one with the latest 64 bit Ubuntu. The problem is I'm connecting the computer to a campus network, and i'm trying to reuse the old computer network name and static ip address so I can secure shell/telnet in. However, the settings seem to be different in ubuntu than red hat. (I'm also new to linux.)

Basically when I set up a computer with red hat it asks me for a computer name during setup and I enter the name.department.institutuion.edu and then it actually prompts me for an ip address and I enter it and it works. Now with Ubuntu it prompted me for a networking name, and it told me it was already in use, (it was the name of the old computer that is no longer on the network, so I suspect it detected there's already a static entry for it in the network) but then it never asked me for the ip address. And going through the network settings for a red hat machine on the network and this new machine I can't seem to find some of the necessary settings to get ubuntu working with the manual settings for the connection. (although dhcp settings work just fine, I just can't use the static ip and name that I want)