PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu Internet slower than Windows

HUGE17
July 11th, 2011, 10:09 PM
I am a Linux newbie who has recently made the switch. All is going very nicely however I am having a problem with the speed of my internet. I am using Natty Narwhal and whenever I stream something that is live my stream is very laggy. However when I stream on Windows on the same stream the quality is much better. I have disabled ipv6 and set my MTU to 1500 as I have read in places this improves the performance however I'm not so sure it has helped me. My connection is a wireless one. Can anyone help me with this problem? Help would be very much appreciated.

doas777
July 11th, 2011, 10:14 PM
just to point you in the right direction, your problem seems to be with video streaming rather than the internet. I think you should probably look into optimizing flash.

if you have a 32bit system, check this out:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1533664

and if you have a 64bit system, look at this, for help in installing the 64bit version:
http://www.ubuntuvibes.com/2011/02/flash-aid-addon-for-firefox.html

the issue may also be with your hardware or drivers. what are your cpu and vid card specs? what vid card driver do you have installed?
if you don't know, run these commands in a terminal and paste back the output:

sudo lshw -C CPU
sudo lshw -C display

HUGE17
July 11th, 2011, 10:50 PM
CPU:

product: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
serial: N/A
slot: N/A
size: 800MHz
capacity: 800MHz
width: 64 bits
clock: 100MHz