PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to get this thing enabled?



b1tchacked
July 10th, 2011, 12:43 PM
*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface
product: AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: 4c:0f:6e:ee:14:33
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath9k driverversion=2.6.38-8-generic firmware=N/A latency=0 link=no multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
resources: irq:16 memory:d3400000-d340ffff

I tried reading many posts but did not work.....and i am newbie:( and am on ubuntu 11.04

chili555
July 10th, 2011, 02:10 PM
DISABLED often, but not always, means that your wireless switch is in the Off position or that a piece of software thinks it's off. Let's see what the system thinks. Please post:
rfkill list allWhat kind of Dell or Acer is it?

b1tchacked
July 11th, 2011, 01:53 PM
0: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
2: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
3: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
4: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: yes

Laptop - Sony vaio Y-Series

chili555
July 11th, 2011, 02:06 PM
An Acer module on a Sony laptop? Hmmm. The doctor has seen these cases before. Please do:
lsmod | grep acerIs the module acer-wmi loaded? If so, please do:
sudo rmmod -f acer-wmi
sudo rfkill unblock all
rfkill list allNow does your wireless work? If so, we'll tweak one file to make it permanent.

b1tchacked
July 11th, 2011, 02:53 PM
0: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
1: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
2: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
3: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
4: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: yes

All were yes earlier after restart , this is what happenned?

b1tchacked
July 11th, 2011, 02:54 PM
I think something wrong with the drivers , can you help with the drivers....

chili555
July 11th, 2011, 03:07 PM
Why did you restart? Why do you think there is a problem with the driver; do you think the driver is going to magically work the wireless switch???
0: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
2: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
3: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
4: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: yes
What are the results if you issue the commands above and do NOT restart?

b1tchacked
July 11th, 2011, 04:52 PM
getting that switched to no did not help me connect to a wireless device....

chili555
July 11th, 2011, 05:34 PM
It's never going to connect, nor are we going to be able to do any troubleshooting with it at hard blocked: yes. Never. When you reboot, the temporary test I suggested goes away, as you saw.
did not help me connect to a wireless device.... Did you see networks when you clicked the Network Manager icon? Did you click yours? Did it try? Were you asked for your encryption key?

b1tchacked
July 12th, 2011, 01:51 PM
system VPCYA15FG (N/A)
/0 bus VAIO
/0/0 memory 1MiB BIOS
/0/6 memory 4GiB System Memory
/0/6/0 memory 2GiB SODIMM DDR3 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/6/1 memory 2GiB SODIMM DDR3 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/c processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU U
/0/c/d memory 3MiB L3 cache
/0/c/e memory 128KiB L1 cache
/0/c/f memory 512KiB L2 cache
/0/100 bridge Core Processor DRAM Controller
/0/100/2 display Core Processor Integrated Graphic
/0/100/16 communication 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI
/0/100/1a bus 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2
/0/100/1b multimedia 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High
/0/100/1c bridge 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI
/0/100/1c/0 wlan0 network AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (
/0/100/1c.2 bridge 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI
/0/100/1c.2/0 eth0 network AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet
/0/100/1d bus 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2
/0/100/1e bridge 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
/0/100/1f bridge Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Inter
/0/100/1f.2 scsi0 storage 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 po
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0 /dev/sda disk 320GB SAMSUNG HM321HI
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0/1 /dev/sda1 volume 9487MiB Windows NTFS volume
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0/2 /dev/sda2 volume 100MiB Windows NTFS volume
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0/3 /dev/sda3 volume 288GiB Windows NTFS volume
/0/100/1f.3 bus 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBu
/0/100/1f.6 generic 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Ther
/0/101 bridge Core Processor QuickPath Architec
/0/102 bridge Core Processor QuickPath Architec
/0/103 bridge Core Processor QPI Link 0
/0/104 bridge Core Processor QPI Physical 0
/0/105 bridge Core Processor Reserved
/0/106 bridge Core Processor Reserved
/0/1 scsi4 storage
/0/1/0.0.0 /dev/sdb disk SCSI Disk
/0/1/0.0.1 /dev/sdc disk SCSI Disk

b1tchacked
July 12th, 2011, 01:53 PM
system VPCYA15FG (N/A)
/0 bus VAIO
/0/0 memory 1MiB BIOS
/0/6 memory 4GiB System Memory
/0/6/0 memory 2GiB SODIMM DDR3 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/6/1 memory 2GiB SODIMM DDR3 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/c processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU U
/0/c/d memory 3MiB L3 cache
/0/c/e memory 128KiB L1 cache
/0/c/f memory 512KiB L2 cache
/0/100 bridge Core Processor DRAM Controller
/0/100/2 display Core Processor Integrated Graphic
/0/100/16 communication 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI
/0/100/1a bus 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2
/0/100/1b multimedia 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High
/0/100/1c bridge 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI
/0/100/1c/0 wlan0 network AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (
/0/100/1c.2 bridge 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI
/0/100/1c.2/0 eth0 network AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet
/0/100/1d bus 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2
/0/100/1e bridge 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
/0/100/1f bridge Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Inter
/0/100/1f.2 scsi0 storage 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 po
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0 /dev/sda disk 320GB SAMSUNG HM321HI
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0/1 /dev/sda1 volume 9487MiB Windows NTFS volume
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0/2 /dev/sda2 volume 100MiB Windows NTFS volume
/0/100/1f.2/0.0.0/3 /dev/sda3 volume 288GiB Windows NTFS volume
/0/100/1f.3 bus 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBu
/0/100/1f.6 generic 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Ther
/0/101 bridge Core Processor QuickPath Architec
/0/102 bridge Core Processor QuickPath Architec
/0/103 bridge Core Processor QPI Link 0
/0/104 bridge Core Processor QPI Physical 0
/0/105 bridge Core Processor Reserved
/0/106 bridge Core Processor Reserved
/0/1 scsi4 storage
/0/1/0.0.0 /dev/sdb disk SCSI Disk
/0/1/0.0.1 /dev/sdc disk SCSI Disk

The wireless connections things are all like invisible cant be clicked at... and i cant detect a wireless connection in the edit connections menu available in the menu at the desktop

chili555
July 12th, 2011, 02:50 PM
/0/100/1c/0 wlan0 network AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (If a network device has been assigned an interface, in this case wlan0, it has a working driver, in your case ath9k.

I have done my best to try to help you and you haven't answered my questions. I don't understand why you come on this forum, ask 'How to get this thing enabled' and then reject the suggestions given to you by a very experienced person.

I wish you good luck.

b1tchacked
July 12th, 2011, 03:47 PM
I did not notice this when you first sent me that list of commands..
sudo rmmod -f acer -wmi


rmmod: invalid option -- 'm'
Usage: rmmod [-fhswvV] modulename ...
-f (or --force) forces a module unload, and may crash your
machine. This requires the Forced Module Removal option
when the kernel was compiled.
-h (or --help) prints this help text
-s (or --syslog) says use syslog, not stderr
-v (or --verbose) enables more messages
-V (or --version) prints the version code
-w (or --wait) begins a module removal even if it is used
and will stop new users from accessing the module (so it
should eventually fall to zero).

This is what i got even though we used the option 'f' it is talking about something 'm'.

I am extremely sorry for acting like a n00b.

chili555
July 12th, 2011, 04:04 PM
sudo rmmod -f acer -wmiPlease make sure it is not separated like acer -wmi. It is, instead:
sudo rmmod -f acer-wmiacer-wmi has no spaces in it. Then do:
sudo rfkill unblock all
rfkill list allNow is it hard blocked: no? If so, does your wireless work? Can you connect? If so, we will need to change one file to make it permanent. Do not restart until we diagnose and fix this.

I will be away for about an hour but I am not forgetting you.

b1tchacked
July 13th, 2011, 02:53 PM
0: sony-wifi: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: sony-bluetooth: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
2: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
4: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no

And i can connect , lets make it permanent..
And i need some tips to understand unix and all this command set..
Help me out how do i start and learn...

chili555
July 13th, 2011, 08:17 PM
And i can connect , lets make it permanent..Excellent! In a terminal, please do:
sudo su
echo "blacklist acer-wmi" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
exitI was starting to get worried when I didn't hear from you. I'm glad it's all sorted out now.

You might check: http://www.amazon.com/Ubuntu-Unleashed-2011-Covering-10-10/dp/0672333449/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1310584476&sr=8-1

http://www.howtoforge.com/howtos/linux/ubuntu

http://ubuntuhowtos.com/

b1tchacked
July 14th, 2011, 09:18 AM
The previous one was solved perfectly and help me out whether i have proper graphic drivers installed for my pc.. by some diagnosis and help me out if it is not installed