PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HELP: Problem Booting Ubuntu 11.04

Jacub
July 6th, 2011, 06:57 AM
So I decided yesterday to completely ditch Windows and install Ubuntu 11.04 on my system when I faced a recurring problem even after 3 attempts of a fresh re-install of the OS.

Before I go any further, please keep in mind that I am a Linux noob with no command line or proper Ubuntu GUI experience. I have only attempted live boots before which have been successful.

My problem:
I burned an ISO image of Ubuntu 11.04 (32-bit) on a CD, while making sure to run it at the slowest possible speed, and then ran a live boot of the OS. All seemed well so I followed the installation instructions and chose the option of replacing WinXP with Ubuntu. Once the installation was done, I was asked to remove the CD from the tray and press "Enter" to proceed with system restart only to have my PC stop the boot sequence with a black screen and a non-responsive blinking cursor. This happens right after the motherboard splash screen/BIOS check. I attempt a hard reset with the same result.

So I did the following:

checked the BIOS' boot sequence and everything was in perfect order.
did another live boot off the CD and ran the "system check", it showed no errors with my internal HDDs, audio output or graphic resolutions tests.
therefore went for a fresh Ubuntu re-install only to face the same problem with the black screen and blinking cursor after booting.

I have gone through a few posts with almost the same problem as mine where the recommended solution was to load safe mode, by pressing "e" or holding down "shift" during boot, but it didn't work with me and I'd still be stuck on the black screen.

System specs:
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe/Wireless Edition
AMD Athlon 64
nVidia GeForce 8400
2 GB RAM
Internal HDDs 40GB (used this for WinXP and Ubuntu), 120GB, 500GB

I would greatly appreciate any advice to help me fix this problem. Thank you for your time.