PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] noob wants security advise

delamite
June 29th, 2011, 06:13 PM
i am still very new to Ubuntu (10.04), trying to learn as quickly as possible. what steps or programs do we need for security? i do a little of everything from paying bills to P2P, not unlike most. you will have to dumb down advise or draw with a crayon for me, but once i get it, i get it. i have purchased an older Linux book to study, i wish it included terminal excersizes to help cement learning commands. anyway, looking forward to help and learning.

doperative
June 29th, 2011, 06:25 PM
i have purchased an older Linux book to study, i wish it included terminal excersizes to help cement learning commands. anyway, looking forward to help and learning.

You don't need to learn any terminal commands to use Ubuntu Linux and it's secure by default ...

haqking
June 29th, 2011, 06:29 PM
You don't need to learn any terminal commands to use Ubuntu Linux and it's secure by default ...

mmm not sure i would agree there but that is open to debate i guess......i would say learn the use of Terminal/CLI/Bash, but yeah pretty secure by default

start here
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/security

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Security

these above 3 should cover most things you need to know

and here are plenty of tutorials for you for CLI http://www.tuxfiles.org/linuxhelp/cli.html there is tons on the net if you look though

most of the support posts you will get in response to questions on here will include use of the terminal so i suggest learn as much as you can about it, it is where the power and configuration lies.

Dangertux
June 29th, 2011, 07:23 PM
I really wish people would stop saying Ubuntu is secure by default. It gives people a very false sense of security.