PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.04 + vnc + create desktop = gnome instead of unity



Hulkiedulkie
June 27th, 2011, 10:33 PM
Hello all,

I'm using a headless server. When i create a desktop and connect remotely (Windows client) it gives me gnome instead of unity.

I remember the first time it prompted me that unity couldn't be run on my hardware but that was only once.

What I've tried:
1) tested locally: unity works
2) connect to the local desktop (through the built-in remote desktop server): unity works
3) created a second desktop locally and connected: gives me gnome
3) different server software (tightvncserver and vnc4server): both give gnome
4) deleted /home/user/.vnc/xstartup
5) tried starting unity from a terminal. it gives me this output:


compiz (core) - Fatal: No XKB extension
Backend : gconf
Integration : true
Profile : unity
Adding plugins
Initializing core options...done
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 1
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 1
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 1
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 1
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 0
Window created on XQueryTree, map state isViewable? 1
Initializing bailer options...done
Initializing detection options...done
compiz (core) - Fatal: No composite extension
compiz (composite) - Error: initScreen failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'composite'
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'opengl' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'opengl'
Initializing decor options...done
Initializing mousepoll options...done
Initializing vpswitch options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'opengl' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'animation' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'animation'
Initializing snap options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'expo' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'expo'
Initializing move options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
Initializing place options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
Initializing grid options...done
Initializing gnomecompat options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'wall' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'wall'
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'ezoom' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'ezoom'
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
Initializing workarounds options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'staticswitcher' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'staticswitcher'
Initializing resize options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'opengl' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'fade' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'fade'
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'unitymtgrabhandles' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'unitymtgrabhandles'
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'scale' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'scale'
Initializing session options...done
compiz (core) - Error: Plugin 'composite' not loaded.
compiz (core) - Error: InitPlugin 'unityshell' failed
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't activate plugin 'unityshell'
Starting unity-window-decorator
Xlib: extension "RANDR" missing on display ":1.0".
The program 'unity-window-decorator' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)'.
(Details: serial 449 error_code 2 request_code 53 minor_code 0)
(Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
Setting Update "run_command_terminal_key"

Any help or suggestions are appreciated!

This is the content of /home/user/.vnc/xstartup:



#!/bin/sh
xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
#x-window-manager &
# Fix to make GNOME work
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
/etc/X11/Xsession

wsauer
April 18th, 2012, 06:18 AM
I'm still struggling with this myself, but it looks like I have made limited progress by:

1) Editing the /etc/xrdp/startwm.sh file to include a custom .xsession startup script like so:



#!/bin/sh

if [ -r /etc/default/locale ]; then
. /etc/default/locale
export LANG LANGUAGE
fi

STARTUP=$HOME/.xsession-vnc
. /etc/X11/Xsession
2) Then supply a .xsession-vnc file (chmod 700) like so:


#!/bin/bash

x-session-manager --session=gnome-classic
I don't think I'm there yet, but this at least allows me to use gnome on 11.10 from a Windows RDP client.

howwhi
May 22nd, 2012, 10:28 PM
Thanks for your notes. I just tried this configuration on a new Precise (12.04) install and xrdp did not care for the "STARTUP=$HOME/.xsession-vnc line at all, regardless of what I put in the .xsession-vnc file.

Let's keep trying on this thread. Would very much like to launch xrdp with the mate-desktop in place of Unity. Sorry if this is against the party line.