PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] home media network design

fyra
June 22nd, 2011, 05:59 AM
Iím designing and building a home network for a share house. I am an AV tech so running new cable throughout the house will not be an issue.

There are 3 laptops, a PC, potentially a server (Iíd need to rebuild it but am willing to spend money there), three HDTVs, 2 xbox 360s and a PS3. There is a modem/router, Cisco 8 port 1000 base-T switch and a Cisco WAP. /deep breath.

Iíve considered a Mythbuntu setup, but I donít really want to spend the money on 3 nice looking small media computers to run the front ends on. If it is possible to put extra video cards (HD5450 cards are $45 now) into the server and run 1 backend with 3 frontends all at once, perhaps using VNC to control the playback, then Iíll reconsider mythbuntu - but I suspect that even if that is possible, the serverís cpu might balk at decoding three video files simultaneously.

I could use the 3 gaming consoles to play files from the server, but I believe that the issue with this lays with the limited number codecs available on Xbox/PS3 systems. Correct me if I am wrong there.

Iím considering forgetting about rebuilding the server and spending the money on some kind of network storage solution, and then using standalone media players (perhaps the WDTV units) for playback. I could probably get away with that for about $5-600 all up.

Iím asking here for more ideas. Iím willing to spend a bit of money, and Iím willing to put time into building something that will work well. Iím also interested to hear about new purposes that I havenít thought about yet.

What else is possible, and what do you think would work the best?

Beacon11
June 22nd, 2011, 03:11 PM
Hmm... I'm actually having trouble picking out a question in there. It sounds like you simply want some sort of media network for running the three TVs, is that correct? And you don't have dedicated computers running the TVs?

fyra
June 23rd, 2011, 12:03 AM