PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] UFW - It would be great if you guys can help me understand.

Linux_will_prevail
June 21st, 2011, 05:00 AM
Guys I am a Linux newbie so please bear with me if I sound stupid. I was checking out how to set up a firewall for my system and landed on this webpage:

http://www.tuxradar.com/content/10-simple-ways-make-your-linux-box-more-secure

But I am so confused with how this ufw application works. What I understand is that once I set it to "default deny" it prevents unauthorized incoming connection but what does it mean when the author says to add exceptions for services I need? When do I need to do that? Also what's an SSH server? I googled it but it went tangent over my head.

uRock
June 21st, 2011, 06:22 AM
You can use the GUFW tool to to input allowances for incoming connections, such as Samba shares or Remote Desktop. GUFW is just a simple graphical interface for UFW.

GUFW can easily be installed via the Ubuntu Software Center, Synaptic Package Manager or running sudo apt-get install gufw in a terminal.

SSH stands for Secure SHell, which is commonly used as an encrypted means to log into other systems for administration purposes, though some use it like a VPN tunnel while on public networks to make life hard for eaves droppers.

BkkBonanza
June 21st, 2011, 06:32 AM
A "service" (on linux called a daemon as well) is a program running always (in the background) that achieves some function or goal. So if you run a "web server" then it must listen for incoming connections of users requesting web pages. There are many different kinds of things you may choose to have running and if you do then you will have to allow the firewall to pass traffic for that service, otherwise it is cut off by the firewall deny rule.